Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"

"Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"

Item# 700249
"Convert your costly inefficient masonry fireplace with the 70.42 efficient 65,000 BTU Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert. Stainless steel secondary combustion tubes and a heavy-duty vermiculite baffle provides a clean burn and results in EPA certification. This unit produces almost twice the heat of a non-certified insert with the same amount of wood. 1.5 cu. ft. fire brick-lined firebox, recommended to heat 600-1700 sq. ft., holds 20in. logs and provides up to a 5-6 hour burn time. Variable speed 130 CFM blower. Built-in air-wash system keeps ceramic glass clean, enabling monitoring and enjoyment of the fire. 3/16in. thick steel top. Fits most mid-size masonry fireplaces with opening dimensions of 29in.W x 15in.D x 22 5/8in.H. EPA Certified Yes, UL UL approved, Heat Settings Variable, Product Type Fireplace insert, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 120V, Firebox Size W x D in. 20 3/8 x 12 3/4, BTU Output 65,000, Dimensions W x D x H in. 27 3/4 x 21 1/8 x 21 5/8, Door Opening W x H in. 19 x 8 1/4, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,800, Fuel Type Wood, Blower Included Yes, Blower CFM 130, Clearance from Side Wall in. 12, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 20, Stove Pipe Included No, Full Load Run Time Hours 3 to 6. Faceplate Item# 700247 or shroud kit required Plated steel construction with cast iron door 28 3/4in.W x 8in.D x 22 5/8in.H minimum opening required"
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (85 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
72 of 85(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
86 Questions | 129 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Review 1 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the buck@

,
April 19, 2016
By
from South Jersey
I agree with Best for the buck. If it is cranking, cant stay in the room. For the size it does a great job. If your layout is one floor ma be difficult to reach the outer limits of the house.
I used the circulating fan for my oil heater. Yes you can install this with another person. Havnt used oil since I installed in early March. Looking forward to another winter. I did have a problem with the fan, northern sent a new one out. and one of the bricks were broken due to shipping. got it replaced.....GREAT STOVE
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST FOR THE BUCK !

,
March 21, 2016
By
from poconos PA
HANDS DOWN GREAT STOVE EASY SET UP THE 45 DEGREE OFF THE BREECH MAKES INSTALLS SO MUCH EASIER WELL BUILT NEVER ANY ISSUES WITH INSTALLS I WILL ALWAYS USE THIS STOVE AS MY # 1 INSERT ........
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not much heat

,
March 1, 2016
By
from Michigan
First off, stove is built well and works fine. My complaint is the 65,000 btu's. I put this stove in my 22x30 cabin and at 20 degrees outside it struggled to maintain 58 degrees in the cabin. I have a 35,000 btu propane ventless wall heater (purchased from NT) and it seems to heat cabin fine. I'm not sure how the btu rating on the stove works but in my opinion it's not comparable. I now have a wood stove that looks really nice in the old fire place but won't produce enough heat to actually heat the cabin. I believe this stove would work well in a small living room but it will not heat a 660 square foot cabin
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

,
January 27, 2016
By
from Big Bear City, CA
Heats my home in Big Bear. This is on the 1st floor. Second floor has a wood stove. Works great. I shopped for a month or so before buying. Could not beat it. If you are looking for one, this is the one to buy.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it, Very efficient

,
January 15, 2016
By
from New Milford CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
First off, the TRIM shown in the picture is NOT INCLUDED. Read the fine print, but the picture was misleading. That said I ordered the trim plates with the $100 gift card I got from Northern. Stove works great and is MUCH more efficient that just a fireplace. Wood consumption is significantly reduced. It DOES smell for the first two days but that is all cleared up now. Fits alot of wood and runs overnight if you turn the damper down. I like the big window and my glass is still pretty clean after a week of running it. Some people have complained about the fan motor noise but I think it is acceptable. Also the trim panels did not quit reach the opening of my fireplace so a little crack is showing.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fireplace insert

,
January 12, 2016
By
from central texas
I was worried that this fireplace insert would be difficult to install but it wasn't. I did it all by myself. The weight was the only real problem. I was able to install it in about 4 hours including the chimney liner. The first day we had it a snowstorm blew in and we lost power for about 6 hours . Even without the blower it kept the house warm enough to be comfortable.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Keep looking

,
January 10, 2016
By
from pa
I bought this insert two years ago looking to heat my 1700 sq ft house and save money on the gas bill. This insert will heat a medium sized room that is it. The 3 to 6 hour burn time means constant trips to keep the stove burning. the incredibly small fire box means 2 max logs at a time sometimes one depending on how many coals you have at the bottom. This is by no means an all night stove. After 2 years with this stove I pulled it out and bought a blaze king, what a difference. What a waste of money this insert was. Btw northern tool is a great company and this is the only purchase I've made from them that didn't turn out so well.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just OK - Need More Heat

,
January 6, 2016
By
from VA
Well, the stove performs well as far as the ability to burn wood. We burn OAK and have no problem getting a 5 hr burn out of the stove. The fire box is small so we can't load all that much wood but we knew that when we bought it. The problem is that the most of the heat goes up the chimney even with the air damper closed. We expected the insert to radiate a lot of heat and it does not not. The fan is a bit noisy, not terrible, but the heat use of very thick fire bricks prevents the steel from getting real hot so the blown air isn't as hot as it could be. Anyhow, the insert seems well enough built and it burns great but it seems more heat is going out the chimney than is entering the room. Note: We installed this in a large fireplace with 6" liner. We have a block-off plate installed and do not use the surround so we should be getting even more heat from the open area but we just don't seem to be getting the radiant heat.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Century 2500 insert

,
December 21, 2015
By
from Massachusetts
Easy install and does a great job heating the whole house and the kids love the large window to view flames.Very well made and we are very happy and made this old and drafty house very comfortable.it also uses very liitle wood.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wood stove

,
December 14, 2015
By
from Hurt, va
Good for heating a small room. Planned on heating my basement, which is 1300 sq. ft. And it only heats half of it decently. Firebox is small. The blower doesnt blow air really well and is loud.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Insert

,
December 7, 2015
By
from CT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I recieved the insert a week ago...I needed another part because I had already had a liner installed in my chimney so I could not hook up the insert prior to installing the liner which makes installation much easier. I needed the liner fixation adapter which lets you hook up the flue through the interior of the insert....there was NO WAY I could have accessed the liner from around the insert. This install was a 10 out of 10 as far as difficulty but with the adapter I was able to remedy the difficult part easily. I am not a pro stove installer but a Home improvement contractor. I highly reccommend this unit for the money its tops.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Century Stove a Gem

,
December 4, 2015
By
from Fort Collins, CO
We've had our stove for about 3 years now and it works like a charm. It was easy to install ourselves with the help of youtube. I work from home and run the stove pretty much constantly during the winter. This stove will keep a 1300 s/f ranch style home an average of 70F when it's 30F outside. My gas furnace doesn't even turn-on except for early in the morning. The stove is also super efficient requiring only about 10 pine logs for a 24hr period - even less with hardwood. The box is relatively small but I find I only need to clean out the ashes about once per week.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Model CB00005 Insert Review

,
November 3, 2015
By
from Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
I ordered this insert a few weeks ago, installed it myself, and am absolutely thrilled with it. My wife and I own a 1300 square foot ranch-style home, and this insert heats it perfectly. We have a four-month old daughter and will be keeping the house much warmer this winter than last, and so far the insert has kept the house in the low 70s with minimal effort. It holds a burn for a long time, traps the heat incredibly well, is easy to use, was easy to install (I did it myself including a chimney liner in about 3 hours), and looks great. The box is relatively small and probably wouldn't hold enough wood for heating a much larger house, but for a single-family home this product is perfect. My wife and I are absolutely thrilled with it, and regretting the fact that we did not put one in before now. I would absolutely recommend this product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fireplace insert

,
October 22, 2015
By
from scarborough , ME
This stove works well and seems very efficient. The blower is just right for the capacity. Burn time with seasoned maple logs is around 2-3 hours. With current outside temps of 30-40 F the stove successfully raised the temperature in the room from 62 to 70 within the first 3 hours.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

,
October 13, 2015
By
from WV
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Stop looking. You won't find a comparable insert at anywhere near the same price. It easily heats my 800 sq ft walkout basement during West Virginia winters which is what I installed it to do. And it looks pretty good doing it. Wife and I wanted the flush-mount so we could sit on the raised hearth in front of the insert and it fits the bill. Coupled with a stainless chimney liner from fireside chimney supply.
Cons - No ash pan, relatively small firebox, and rattling fan I had to shim with cardboard. Perhaps it's installer error since other reviewers haven't mentioned it but I also have problems with the top firebricks sliding out of place. Some say the fan on high is loud but I don't notice it (granted I'm usually watching TV). Per my opening comment, you can address these shortcomings by spending a grand or more extra.
Other reviewers commented on the blower volume which I find adequate. Sometimes think volume could be a little greater but also recognize the fan recirculates air from around the stove. Ergo could push more air but it probably wouldn't be as warm. Honestly, once this insert really gets going, you'll probably find yourself reaching to turn the fan down. The variable speed blower is a really nice touch.
Also note this insert works best with smaller wood about 16" long and split no larger than a 2 liter bottle. The "all-nighters" that my dad used to throw into our cavernous black bart won't fit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Wood Stove Insert

,
December 20, 2014
By
from Damascus, MD
When I first bought this, I thought it was very small. Its in my basement with an open stairwell so the heat pretty easily works its way upstairs to the main level. After a few hours this wood stove insert heats up my 600 square foot basement to the point of where I have to open doors to the outside. It also keeps the upstairs at around 66-68 degrees with the hvac fan on. I am very happy with this product. The window is also a nice size and allows a nice view of the fire.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Our main heating source!

,
December 12, 2014
By
from Colfax, NC
We purchased this in hopes to heat our 1440 sq ft house, and even though we are only on the second full day of using it, we have already seen a difference! With a few more heat saving measures we are still taking, we're optimistic that it will continue to take the chill off! We recommend fully reading all of the instructions in the manual before firing, as we would have gone full blast if we had not read the instructions. We had a professional install it, and it seemed simple enough for them! Great product! Thanks, Northern Tool and Century Heating!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't let price fool you.

,
November 14, 2014
By
from Topeka, KS
I have two of these inserts. One in the basement and the other upstairs. 1100 sq ft basement, 1400 sq ft first story.
I can get the basement to about 85 F on the coldest days without anythinf going upstairs. I can get (by accident) the upstairs to 90 F.
The only real problem with the insert is the burn times. The longest burn I've gotten was only around 7 hours. This means I have to get up in the middle of the night to restock the insert, but for 1/2 the cost of most inserts it is definitely worth it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Starting Third Season With Stove

,
November 11, 2014
By
from Texas
I live in a 2000 sq ft. home built in 1963. It has new double pane windows and extra insulation in the attic. I have been using wood stoves for many years and have three including the Century unit in my home. Since getting the Century 65,000 BTU stove I have not used the other two stoves much. The Century stove does a very good job of heating the house. We don't get the winters like up north but do get a week or so long cold spells that test a stoves heating ability. The fan is not that load and the stove burns relatively clean with well seasoned wood. One of the most important things to get a hot burning stove is to start with good seasoned wood. I would buy this stove again and would recommend it to a friend.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Century Heating High-Efficiency Wood Stove Fireplace Insert - 65,000 BTU, EPA-Certified, Model# CB00019"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Puts out alot of heat

,
November 9, 2014
By
from zeeland mi
very nice stove for the price heats are 1500 sq ft ranch home very well.saved us alot of propane last winter.The bad things are the fire box is small and you do have to empty ashes every other day.I would recommend this stove for the price.install was a bit tricky to get the old damper out of fireplace,put ss liner in chimmney was the easy part.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.