Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20

Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20

Item# 700273
"Shock your guests when you grab one of these deviously disguised fire starters. They'll think you're planning to blow them sky high, when all you've really got in mind is starting a nice cozy fire. Burns for 30 minutes. 16in.L x 10in.W x 6 1/2in.H crate contains 20 sticks. Compatible With Fireplace, firepit, stove, Includes 20 Fire stick, Common Usage Fire starter."
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (36 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 36(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Review 1 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dy-No-Mite Fire Starters

,
February 6, 2016
By
from Gloversville, NY
These Fire Starter Sticks work really well. They will get your fire place fire started in no time at all. They are also a great attention getter with your friends. When you reach down to get one of these starters out of the realistic looking wood Dynamite box and light it, you can hear the gasps from your friends! I highly recommend these fire starter sticks.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dynomite Fire Starters

,
January 15, 2016
By
from Coupeville, Wa.
Bought this to accent my wood stove in the barn. The fire starter sticks work well and do the job . What wasn't expected was the excitement from the grandkids on the details of the wood crate that the fire starter sticks came in . The wood box is really "cool" ...
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fire starter

,
January 13, 2016
By
from Huntington, Utah
Well built box, and the firestarters really light up fast!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dynamite

,
January 11, 2016
By
from Harrison, AR
The product works well with the added kick that it comes in neat box--I am considering taking a hot nail and obscuring burned in writing that says fireplace starter
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and Clean firestarters

,
January 10, 2016
By
from Philadelphia
These are really well designed, they fit well in between logs, just light and let it do its job, it lights quick and flames up nice, getting the fire going quick.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fire sticks WORK

,
January 2, 2016
By
from Mountainair, NM
Great product. Easily starts fires in my wood burning stove. The "Dynamite" box is great decor - and really a conversation piece.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dynamite sticks

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Carthage, Tx
These sticks are great! I usually either break them in half or even in thirds to start a fire in my fireplace. They last long enough to get a good fire going.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Gift!

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Massachusetts
I purchased these fire starters for a co-worker for Christmas. He has a bit of land and often has bon fire parties. This worked out to be a great gift. He was surprised and delighted when he opened up his box of "Dynamite". The crate was well made, and I could tell he can't wait to use them in front of his friends. It was a wonderful gift, and I am anxious to hear about his next party. Thanks Northern Tool for a great gift idea!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the fire sticks and the box they came in.

,
December 18, 2015
By
from Albion, PA
Using these fires sticks makes it easier and faster to get a fire going in my fireplace. They burn slowly which makes for a really nice fire. They really do work nice. And the box they came in - makes a great conversation piece. Everyone gets a real kick out of it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fire Starter

,
December 17, 2015
By
from Memphis TN
These work great and the box is nice too. The word DYNAMITE stenciled on the box is an attention getter
since we keep it on the floor beside our wood carrier.
I have found that unless the humidity is very high. 1/2
of a stick is quite capable of getting the fire off to a good
start.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works well

,
December 15, 2015
By
from Willis, Tx.
Works great. and get lots of laughs because of the sign says on the box .Can be used with half stick because it burns very well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Starter Sticks Fine | Package Box ??

,
December 5, 2015
By
from Kankakee IL
I purchased two of these. One for a gift and one for personal use. The starter sticks seem to take a while to get lit - perhaps there are a few tricks! I had to rebuild both of the pine boxes that this dynamite product comes in. I get the novelty but I think the box should hold up through shipping and beyond.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's DYNO MITE

,
December 5, 2015
By
from NC
These Fire starters are a great conversation piece to say the least, and they Work!! GREAT Display, they are big in size, so I quarter them... Hey more to use. The case looks great and always draws curiosity to friend and family when sitting on the hearth. YEs I recommend them.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great - - but wood box needs help

,
December 3, 2015
By
from Georgia
Great product - - but the wood box hinges really need fixing! The shavings in the box are a mess in my living room - - but the real problem is the hinges and screws. Both are too small and the tiny self tapping screws have no holding power in soft pine. Both hinges fell out when I opened the box. I filled the screw holes and used #6 brass screws to replace the dinky originals. I'll see how that lasts before I go buy decent strap hinges.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Starter Sticks

,
November 13, 2015
By
from Texas
My only complaint is they didn't come with fuses! I guess that is a separate purchase :)
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clever and Effective

,
April 18, 2015
By
from Central IL
These fire starter sticks are effective and packaged in a clever/fun box. After receiving a full cord of wood that is a bit 'green' and tough to start in an outdoor fire pit, I struggled with liquid fire starters .... having to stand over fires for 10 minutes or more, dangerously spraying more liquid over the already burning fire to keep it going. These starter sticks have solved my problem. The steady flame and ability to place the fire start exactly where I need it/out of the wind makes these very effective. Great product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun and functional

,
February 13, 2015
By
from TX
Awesome looking and fun conversation piece. Works great though there is no need to use a whole one for every fire. Open it outside for the first time because they are stored in sawdust.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bang!

,
February 8, 2015
By
from CT
These sticks are awesome! Quick start and BANG a roaring fire.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Burn baby, burn!!!!

,
January 19, 2015
By
from Illinois
These are excellent for starting a fire anywhere!!
Whole stick or break up in one inch pieces. Great outdoors or in, fireplace or wood stove. Box also gets a few remarks!! Will buy again!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter Sticks - Crate of 20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Black Rock Powder Company Dynamite Fire Starter St

,
January 19, 2015
By
from South Arkansas
This product is nice to have around, I use mine for starting fires when I burn outside. One stick burns for a good while. Only problem I have is getting it to flame up. The length of burn overpowers the trouble getting the first flame so I'm all in.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.