Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB

Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB

Item# 701200
This Daka Furnace burns wood or coal with the addition of coal grate kit, not included to produce up to 105,000 BTU to heat your entire home or shop. Built to last, this furnace features a fire box constructed of 3/16in. thick steel plating, firebrick lining and a heavy-duty cast iron fire door with an easy-to-operate handle. Infinitely-adjustable heat settings provide convenient heat control. The high-quality Dayton blower features a 1/10 HP permanent split capacitor motor and sealed ball bearings for trouble-free performance. There are also two 8in. warm air outlets on top of unit. Blower CFM 550, Blower Included Yes, Blower Power Supply Volts, Amps 115V, 1.85A, BTU Output 42,000 to 105,000, Clearance from Corner in. 32 1/2, Clearance from Rear Wall in. 32 1/2, Clearance from Side Wall in. 18, Dimensions W x D x H in. 24 x 40 1/2 x 44, Door Opening W x H in. 11 x 11, EPA Exempt Yes, Firebox Size W x D in. 16 x 23, Flue Collar Size in. 6, Fuel Type Wood/coal, Full Load Run Time Hours 10, Heating Capability sq. ft. 2,600, Igniter None, Max. Log Size Accepted L in. 22, Mobile Home Approved No, Product Type Furnace, Stove Pipe Included No, Thermostat Included Yes, UL UL approved. 3/16in. thick steel plating Firebrick lining Heavy-duty cast iron fire door with an easy-to-operate handle Infinitely-adjustable heat settings High-quality Dayton blower with 1/10 HP permanent split capacitor motor and sealed ball bearings Two 8in. warm air outlets on top Firebox is 18in.H To burn coal, furnace requires Soft Coal Shaker Grate Kit not included Not for sale in California, Washington and Oregon Not to be installed in mobile homes
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB
Review 1 for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heat kicker

,
November 8, 2012
By MCCALL
from pa
"had this heater for 30 days which 15 days burning wood non stop i love it its the only heat in my house i dont use my oil heat any more the only thing i see a problem is the cold air box just sits back there no way to atach it to the burner . 10/15/12 the most important thing to me is its made in the U S A"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Daka Wood Furnace

,
January 10, 2012
By CindyGirl
from Danielsville, PA
"This stove has been a wonderful additional heat source for our two-story colonial home. It really packs a lot of HEAT!!! Well built too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
18out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well as add on.

,
January 9, 2012
By kluke
from Ravenna,KY
"Have to leave damper open on high to burn wood good. Thermostatic on blower sometimes doesn't work right."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
10out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

burner

,
October 7, 2011
By Don09
from Connellsville Pa.
"recieved my stove very fast have not fired yet but I expect no problems why I only rated a 4 out of 5 well built
cant wait till I light it in few weeks
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-28points
1out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - Model# 521FB

,
March 14, 2011
By Steven45130
from Hamersville, Ohio
"Overall this is a decent wood furnace, I've only had one problem so far after a couple months of 24 hour a day use.
There now is a hint of smoke in the duct air that wasn't there before.... I suspect a pinhole in the burn chamber welding but haven't had time to properly test for a leak. I can fix it myself so not really worried about it, just the wife will nag me about it till I do.
The blower on this unit is more than adequate for my home, buying the twin blower would have been a waste of money for my installation.
The ash pan is great, the simple design makes it easy to clean out... the open end is the best idea ever.... Boxed ash pans can be really messy to empty!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Wood Furnace

,
February 24, 2011
By Tiktac
from VA
"I just received my Daka wood burning furnace and just love it! I can't believe how efficient the furnace burns. I fill the furnace 2 times a day and it will keep my 1688 sq foot house at 74deg easly for 24 hrs. I would highly reccomend this furnace to anyone. Great customer service. Great price too!!!
Tom In VA
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
desa
Narrowsburg, NY 
 
Please wait while more information about desa is loaded.
Additional information about desa could not be loaded.
replace oil
September 10, 2011
"I am thinking of getting this furnace to replace my oil furnace. My house needs 50000BTUs total- 20000 in the basement and 30 upstairs.
We live in Manhattan, but would like to be able to come to our rural house in the winter. I hate the idea of burning oil.
Any thoughts on the suitability of this furnace for that purpose?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

521 fb

,
December 27, 2010
By dawelder1
from Virginia MN
"I have to say that I am way more than happy I got this wood furnace!!
I burned some kindling and 2 - 4inch logs in it on the driveway before bringing it in the house, the smoke from the outside was gone after first log but did the second just for insurance.
It could not be easier to put this furnace together, took all of 30 min to have it redy to hook up in place of my old stove.
I had measured and was redy with what I needed to hook up and wire new stove and it was in place wired and being fired in less than 20 min.
My home is poorly insulated for northern MN and it was about 6F outside, the house cooled to 58F as I had to wait till old stove was dead to change them out. I have a 1600sqf two story home. I fired the 521 and it took less than 20 min to go from stone cold to kicking the blower on and then another 20min to bring the living room up to 75F, 1 hr latter we had the living room to 90 plus and the upstairs at 86F, we just wanted to see what it could do!!!!! Temp outside had gone below 0F! Old stove never could heat the upstairs it was always cold. They say this stove can heat 2600 ft and they are not kiding! One more thing is that I work midnights and when I come home, house is still warm and enough coals to relight easy, thats about a 9 hour burn!!
It drafts great, starts easy, burns hot, it's easy on wood, I can't say enough good things about this stove! (no I'm not a sales person for them)!!
You will enjoy this stove, you will be warm, I don't know how I put up with my old one so long!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Daka Wood or Coal Burning Furnace - 42,000 -105,000 BTU, Model# 521FB
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

daka furnace

,
October 1, 2010
By hinter1
from minnesota
"I own 2 DAKA furnaces. One in my home and one in my shop. I could not ask for a more reliable and economical furnace! These furnaces are the highest quality on the market ,I researched many brands and decided on a DAKA . I was not disapointed in my dicision ! My wife never complains of being cold anymore!!! I have not used any propane to heat my home since instaling this furnace ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
12out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.