Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A

Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A

Item# 701416
This versatile Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder is an excellent choice for those who sharpen saw chains on a regular basis. Sharpens 1/4in., 0.325in., 3/8in. and 404in. pitch chains. Arbor Size in. 7/8, Bolt Hole Shape Round, Bore Diameter in. 7/8, Wheel Diameter in. 5 3/4, Chain Pitch in. 1/4-0.404, Assembly Required Yes, Motor 3/8 HP, 3A, Wheel Included Yes, Product Type Grinder, Rated RPM 3,400, Mount Type Bench, Volts 120, Watts 300. 3400 RPM, 3/8 HP direct drive motor provides enough power for daily heavy-duty grinding Versatile bench chain grinder is excellent choice for those who sharpen saw chains on a regular basis Safety shield prevents injury Variable motor grind angle Durable, long-lasting cast aluminum chassis One-way motor rotation for greater operator safety Large motor fan and durable T-shaped cooling fins for excellent temperature regulation Easy-to-use controls to make precise adjustments Securely held chain parts to reduce risk of operator injury Tripod stand sold separately, Item# 193069 Standard chain vise attachment fits 1/4in., 0.325in., 3/8in. and 0.404in. chains 1/8in. vitrified grinding wheel sharpens 1/4in., 0.325in. except 20 series and 3/8in. 91 series only pitch chains 3/16in. vitrified grinding wheel sharpens 0.325in. 20 and 95 series only, 3/8in. except 91 series and 0.404in. pitch chains 1/4in. vitrified grinding wheel sharpens 1/2in. pitch chains and sets depth gauges
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Review 1 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Sharpener

,
February 4, 2014
By waterhead
from counce, TN
"Sharpener works good mounted it on a plate that I put in a vise when I need to use it. Already had worklight on bench but if I didn't a worklight would be nice. get one with a magnifier glass in it works great to look at the teeth good as you sharpen them. Seems to be a good product"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little machine

,
February 4, 2014
By BossHoss
from Amenia, NY
"I bought this sharpener to get some extra income and I have been very happy with it. The assembly instructions could have been better, but if you have some common sense you can figure it out. Luckily my father used to own a sharpening business so he showed me how to use the sharpener. I just wish it came with a work light. The next model up has one but it's another 100 dollars. Also would suggest getting a pair of calipers to make sure the teeth are even for a straight cut."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great grinder. Difficult to set up and orient self

,
February 4, 2014
By Toddstree
from Nh
"It was difficult to get started however once I was operational it was a pleasure to use. I run about four different chainsaws so it's difficult to identify each individual chain and it's required angles. I wish a there was a better instruction manual for this. The price did seem fair and it is well built. I have sharpened with great success already. I especially like how if I damage a chain on the job I can go home and repair it immediately for the next day."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Oregon Bench Grinder 510A

,
November 23, 2013
By oldmanonthefarm
from N. Indiana
"After one year's use, and multiple attempts to reduce or remove the significant vibration, I bought a new 3/16 inch grinding disc. After installing it on the grinder the vibration disappeared! Reading other reviews, it appears I was not the only one to experience vibration with the grinding disc shipped with the grinder. Also I agree a work light would be an excellent addition."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very well put together

,
April 23, 2013
By justmythoughts
from strum, wi
"This is a great chainsaw chain sharpener. Took a little bit to figure out the exact setting for my saw, but once it is figured out, it is great. It is nice to have a couple sharpened chains with me at all times since you never know what you will hit when cutting in an urban setting. Great buy for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sharpener

,
August 13, 2012
By Firefighter2045
from Indiana
"This is a great sharpener which should last a lifetime. It took a little bit to get good and comfortable with it, but after that it has been a dream."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
9out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saves you money and time

,
October 11, 2011
By Deninthewoods
from Southwest Missouri
"Living out in the country it took 30 minutes to drive to have chains sharpened. I first bought Northern Tools brand sharpener (#193020) and due to a problem they agreed to exchange up to this Oregon( I paid extra). From the beginning it has worked like a charm. With a little of my own adjustment, to the angle, my chains cut better than ever. Each chain I sharpened I saved another $6.00. It has all of the features that the professional has without getting into the extreme high priced. It will take you a few chains to get used to the right cut, just be patience. My only regret is that it does not have a light. A gooseneck light solved that issue. I have found Northern prices and their service to be top notch. They have always resolved any problem with courtesy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
24out of 43found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Oregon Chain Sharpener

,
March 21, 2011
By Jjim2049
from Baldwinsville, NY
"I've had my sharpener for over 4 years now, it still works like new. It's so simple and easy to use, I can sharpen up to 8 chains an hour. And when i'm done, everyone cant beleive the difference. It sharpens mush better than any hand held or even "chain mountable sharpeners" trust me this one is worth the investment. Also when I first received the sharpener along with 3 different size grinding wheels, one was broken. I called the customer service and within 2 days I had a new set of all 3 grinding wheels even though only one broke! An excellent company. I suggest mounting it on a movable cart, so you can roll it to wherever you want without re-mounting it. I havent found anything I dislike about this particular sharpener, but be careful when you change the grinding wheels, if you tighten them on too much they will crack. I hope this reveiw is helpful. You'll love your new sharpener!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+50points
50out of 50found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench Grinder

,
March 14, 2011
By Anonymous
from Faber, VA
"I bought this chain saw grinder for my husband. He loves it. He can now put a great sharp edge on chains. It is worth the price. Originally it was backordered, but came pretty quickly. I would highly recommend this grinder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple

,
June 2, 2010
By woodchuck64
from Washington
"I have spent hundreds on chains and sharpen with files but I sharpened 24 chains in no time and now ready for firewood season, sharpener was easy to set up and easy to use.
Just sorry didn't purchase one years ago.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 510A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

510A

,
July 13, 2009
By Bill64
from Weare N.H.
"This unit works very well shapening chains. It took me several chains to become compfortable with it and now I can sharpin a chain in a couple of minutes.
The only down side to this was the grinding wheels that came with it were out of balance and the sharpener vibrated horrably. I replaced the wheels and it works great.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
18out of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.