Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1

Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1

Item# 70421
Briggs & Stratton 504cc Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start delivers top reliability, performance and durablity to meet the demands of professionals.The OHV engine features a pressure lubrication system with an automotive full-flow style spin-on oil filter that cleans contaminants from the oil. Air Cleaner Type Dual element, Application Riding lawn mowers, lawn tractors, Auto Compression Release Yes, Bearing Type Plain, Bolt Circle in. 10, Bore x Stroke in. 3.70 x 3.06, Carburetor Float, Charging System Amps 9, Choke Control Manual, Cooling System Air cooled, Crankshaft Tapped 7/16-20, keyway, 1 in. dia., Cylinder Bore Cast iron, Cylinders qty. 1, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 x 16 1/2 x 13, Engine Displacement cc 540, Engine Type Intek-OHV, EPA/CARB Approval California Air Resource Board Yes, Fuel Filter Yes, Fuel Pump Yes, Pulse, Fuel Tank Not included, Fuel Type Gasoline, Governor System Mechanical, Ignition System Electronic, Low Oil Alert No, Low Oil Shutdown No, Lubrication System Full pressure, Max. RPM 3,300, Muffler Included Yes, Oil Capacity qt. 1.5 48 oz., Shaft Diameter in. 1, Shaft End Tapped Diameter in./Threads per inch 7/16-20, Shaft Keyway in. 1/4, Shaft Length in. 3 5/32, Shaft Output Vertical, Shaft Rotation From PTO Shaft Side Counterclockwise, Start Type Electric, Throttle Control Remote. Advanced debris management system with dual-sealing cartridge-style air filter for maximum protection and extended engine life AVS antivibration system eliminates side-to-side motion of a traditional counter and rotating balance system Easy-to-use automotive-style dipstick Dura-Bore cast iron cylinder sleeve stands up to wear and abuse while providing improved oil control Dura-Lube gear-driven splash lubrication system continuously supplies oil to all internal parts Heavy-duty Teflon-coated bronze sleeve bearing reduces wear and withstands twice the belt load of standard bearings High-capacity panel air cleaner element for greater cleaning capabilities and longer engine life High-volume cooling fan keeps the engine running cooler Magnetron electronic ignition for quick, dependable parts OHV design for high fuel efficiency and long engine life Pressure lubrication system with spin-on oil filter for controlled clean oil flow to lower bearings to decrease wear Easy-access tool-less air cleaner cover
Average Customer Rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (46 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
11
30 of 46(65%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Review 1 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this engine!

,
August 13, 2012
By LawnKing
from Phoenix, AZ
"The engine in my 13 year old Craftsman tractor died and I decided to jump up from a 14.5 HP Briggs and Stratton to this 21 HP unit. The engine was a direct bolt-in. I did have to change the connector on my wiring harness to match the connector on the new engine and I will add this tip: lay the new engine on it's side and run the four engine mounting bolts into the new engine mounting holes to cut new threads before placing the engine on your tractor, then remove them and install the engine. You do not need a tap and die set... just thread in the bolts. The engine is wider than the original and the exhaust exits on the right side instead of the front so my hood needs to be "adjusted" to fit properly. Right now I am running without the hood and the engine performs flawlessly! Starts on the first crank and runs smooth and strong!
Overall a very fine upgrade and I'm hoping to get another 13 years out of this tractor!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

21 HP replacement in 17.5 LT1000

,
December 31, 2011
By Zagamoochie
from Vineland, NJ
"I had been shopping new and used lawn tractors for months to find a replacement for my 03 Craftsman LT1000. I wanted to upgrade to a little more horsepower. Then I ran across the 21 Horse power Briggs and Stratton on the Northern Tools website. The cost was half that of a new tractor, and still cheaper than that of a good used one with comparable horse power. This was the right call, It mounted perfectly in the old 17.5 horse frame and needed no modifications, even the six pin molex plug was an exact match. I had it swapped out and running in a little over an hour after the UPS man brought it to my garage.
It runs strong and fires up as soon as you turn the key. If you own a older B&S powered tractor and want to step up horse power and reliability don't hesitate, buy this engine now!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
PAAB
 
Please wait while more information about PAAB is loaded.
Additional information about PAAB could not be loaded.
?
March 9, 2012
"RECEIVED ENGINE TODAY 3/9/12. VERY EASY TO INSTALL ON L4000 2005 MODEL. THIS MOWER HAS ELECTRIC CLUTCH FOR BLADE ENGAGE. FILLED WITH OIL. RAN ENGINE FOR ABOUT 30 MINUTES. ENGAGED ELECTRIC CLUCH ABOUT FOUR TIMES DURING THIS PERIOD. THE LAST TIME ENGINE STARTED BLOWING COMPRESSION OUT EXHAUST PIPE AND WOULD HARDLY RUN. I AM A MECHANIC BY TRADE. SOMETHING MUST BE WRONG WITH THIS SET UP WITH THE ELECTRIC CLUTCH. THE ELECTRIC CLUCTH SEEMS TO BE A HARD JOLT TO THE ENGINE. ALL PULLEYS AND CLUTCH BEARINGS ARE FREE WHEN DISCONNECTED FROM ENGINE. THIS IS THE SAME THING THAT HAPPENED TO THE 18.5HP ENGINE THAT WAS ON IT BEFORE. COULD BE DEFECT WITH THIS ENGINE THAT I BOUGHT. NOT SURE. WILL BE SENDING IT BACK FOR WARRANTY."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

21hp intek

,
August 30, 2010
By Jetogi
from Molalla, Oregon
"I received the motor promptly, undamaged, and with no complications. I changed over the exhaust and wiring to my riding mower and had it up and running in less than 2 hours. It has ran and idled perfectly since. My only concern is longevity and obviously only time will tell. As of now, I would recommend this motor to anyone. I would definitely recommend Northern for service and pricing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased

,
September 17, 2012
By Philigoat
from Texas
"Ordered online. Shipped to me within 5 days. Very easy to install onto my fastrak ztr mower to replace a 17 hp kolher. Bolt holes lined up perfectly. I did have to do some bending on the old exhaust to make it work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
May 25, 2012
By Cardboard
from Waterflow, NM
"Replaced a worn out Kohler 17 Hp in my lawn tractor with this engine ... It bolted right in. Had to make some minor modifications to wireing plugs, & exhaust system, but had it up and running 2 hours after UPS dropped it off. The extra Hp is wonderful ... the tractor runs better now than it did the day I brought it home new. If you are looking for a new engine, you can't go wrong with this one, and the price is right!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT FIT!

,
October 10, 2011
By cutter57
from Providence, RI
"I purchased this engine for a replacement on my craftsman lawn tractor. The engine I replaced was an craftsman 18.5 briggs and statton. It Fit!. This engine has more power and runs great. I installed it myself. I only have "handyman" status and a good set of rachets. It took me about 4 to 6 hours on my day off. I would recomend this engine to everyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement engine

,
April 25, 2013
By Anonymous
from melbourne, Fl
"I bought this engine to replace the BS engine that failed in my lawn tractor. The original engine apparently was a Briggs failure,(my local small engine repair shop stated) it started burning oil before I had 50 hours on it, unfortunately it was after the warrenty expired. The new engine is working fine, the installation was fairly smooth, took about 4 hours. So far so good. The service at Northern Tools was terrific. The engine arrived at the store quickly and the employee was great in assisting me putting it in the car. Hats off to Northern Tools."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with

,
August 14, 2012
By Charlie10012
from NH
"great product. easy installation. bolted right on with no modifacations.
started on first crank. make sure you add oil comes with no oil in engine. for obviouse shipping reasons
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briges 25 HP motor

,
August 13, 2012
By Fixxer
from Grafton Wv.
"Great Motor works very good lots of power good shiping and go custermer service"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine Replacement

,
August 13, 2012
By Lazy1
from NY state
"good price - fast delivery. Engine was a direct replacement for Toro riding mower. E-Z replacement!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

replacement engine

,
August 18, 2012
By quack2
from Van Buren, Arkansas
"I am well pleased with the performance of the engine. It has plenty of power, much more than my old engine. Replacement was easy with a few modifications. Delivery was quick and on schedule. Price was great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine

,
August 13, 2012
By RebornChristian
from Lancaster, Ohio
"The product was exactly what was needed for the situation. It was an exact fit with easy starting. The engine has plenty of power and so far has been completely faithful and hope to have years of the same kind of performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replaced my 15.5 Intek on Dixon ZTR perfectly

,
May 10, 2012
By Novicaine
from Fairbury, IL
"My Dixon ZTR had a Briggs 15.5 hp when I bought it new in about 2002, and the engine was getting worn, smoking, hard starts, finally blew a head gasket.
I wanted something a little bigger (when running the leaf bagger it always bogged down), and at the price, this motor seemed to fit the bill. 21 hp instead of 15.5! I wasn't sure it would fit, but I compared all the specs to my factory 15.5 and they all looked the same.
The install was simple -- It was a 100% direct replacement, the only thing I had to do was swap one of the wiring connectors from the old engine to the new one. But the wires were even the same color, so it was a no brainer.
The new motor starts quickly, and runs much better than my old worn out one... I can't wait to see how it does with the leaf bagger this fall."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

runs great

,
May 8, 2014
By 1090
from chehalis,wash
"replaced kohler courage22hp with this engine in my cub cadet .bolted right up, runs great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

improved ohv engine

,
February 5, 2014
By shoehorn
from Greenville sc
"These new ohv engines have a much better air filter design than the previous ones that had less filter surface area thus increasing chances of dirt ingestion.
The new Briggs motors are now tagged to meet the new sae horse power output rating. So when Briggs says this 18 HP motor is a direct replacement for your 21 HP don't worry. Its the exact same motor just a different sticker.
Pricing is great compared to kohler and Kawasaki replacements. Also a great replacement for your worn out Briggs.
The electronics may not be plug and play but are very simple to figure out"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briggs Did it!

,
April 6, 2013
By Tiggod
from TN
"Briggs,Honda,Kohler or Kawi? Here's the skinny. You need a cast iron bore, quality bearings and a pressure lubrication system if you want to get 20 years from an engine. This is the only one on the market under $1,000.00! There are other engines as good and many in the $2,500.00 rage that are better, but if you are not running your equipment 24/7, this is more engine than you need. It was set up to run right out of the box. I replaced a Honda 17 HP, and am much more impressed with the build quality of the Briggs. Maintenance is easy with minimal tools. This design is so rediculously simple, it should not be this powerful and efficient. Uses much less fuel than even my push mower! I am not a lawn boy with an opinion, I actually machine and build custom engines. I can't brag enough on the quality, price, and ease of installation and maintenance of this engine. I have never cared for anything Briggs built....Till now!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ran better than the stock 19hp engine ever did

,
September 19, 2011
By www451oa
from North of Boston, MA
"I purchased this engine to replace the B&S 19hp engine on my Troy Bilt Pony riding mower. I have a hilly yard and I'm a pretty good size guy, 6ft 250lbs, this engine has no problem pulling me and a full load of grass up the hill without any strain. It runs smoother and quieter than my old engine ever did. It's also far better on gas than the old engine was.
Only downside was that I had to tap the bolt holes on the engine block prior to installing. I didn't know this ahead of time. So if you purchase, plan on having a tap set ready for when you install it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
MowRepair1
Kansas 
 
Please wait while more information about MowRepair1 is loaded.
Additional information about MowRepair1 could not be loaded.
The bolts should be self tapping.
July 2, 2012
"The original equipment bolts should be self tapping. Reuse them if not too worn. You can identify them by looking at the shape. Should be a triangular shape (not the normal round).
If not you can purchase replacement bolts. Don't tap there is no need."
+1point
1out of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised

,
June 11, 2013
By BrmSort
from WI
"Received on time in excellent condition. It was exactly as described on the site. The only downside is that the instructions that come with it are pretty spartan. But if you have a decent mechanical aptitude, you should be able to use it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replcement engine

,
June 1, 2010
By olebuck
from Emporia Kansas
"This engine is everything it was said to be.The wiring harness plugged into the Husky mower it was installed on,and it started and ran on the first crank of the starter.Very smooth ranning and good power.Have only put about 5hrs on it so far,but seems to be strong and don't expect any problems. Delivery was in three days after oder was placed. Super service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
drive
N.D. 
 
Please wait while more information about drive is loaded.
Additional information about drive could not be loaded.
21 HP Intek
August 21, 2012
"Dropped this 21 HP in my 60" swisher pull behind mower,beats the heck out of my old 14 hp engine!Bolted right in,no problem.no need to slow down for the heavy stuff."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Briggs & Stratton Intek Vertical OHV Engine with Electric Start - 540cc, 1in. x 3 5/32in. Shaft, Model# 331977-0001-G1
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

18.5 HP Engine Replacement

,
October 17, 2013
By MDW55
from Smithfield, VA 23430
"Northern Tool was very helpful in my engine replacement experience. Good website. Courteous workers who assisted me, and even helped load my engine. Terrific bargain (the price was hundreds of dollars lower than the closest competitor). I ordered it on a Sunday evening, and it was delivered to the store for me to pick-up on the following Friday (5 days). The engine replacement wasn’t too difficult, even with the very limited mechanical skills I have. Plan a full day to replace the engine. I replaced my blown 18.5 HP engine with the new 21 HP engine. I was disappointed in the mounting hardware (which was none). Two trips to the hardware store took care of that. My old engine was mounted with threaded bolts. The replacement engine required through bolts, washers and nuts. I had to remove the new muffler from the replacement engine (since it was a side mount) and use my existing muffler (which was a front mount). Simply removing the mounting hardware and spacer took care of that situation. I was also disappointed that there was no engine oil with the replacement engine. Another trip to the auto parts store took care of that. The new 21 HP engine was a great fit for my riding mower, as it is definitely more powerful than the original engine. Start-up was smooth. Very strong running engine. On a scale of 1 to 10, I’d rate the entire replacement process an 8 (for a new beginning). I would have given it a 10 if the mounting hardware and oil had been supplied, but considering the cost, I really couldn’t complain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.