Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax

FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax

Item# 790007
For portability, compact storage, and convenience, no automotive lift on the market today compares to the patented MaxJax Portable Two Post Lifting System by Dannmar. This portable two post lift is perfect for low-clearance ceilings and home garages. The MaxJax Lift gives you all the convenience of a regular two post lift, without permanently taking up a vehicle lane. The MaxJax has more under-car clearance than Scissor-style lifts, as well as all of the capabilities of a 2-post lift. With a minimum ceiling height of just 8 feet, it will fit in just about any home garage - turning your garage into a work space that rivals a professional shop. Lift Capacity lbs. 6,000, Max. Rise in. 45, Time of Full Rise seconds 30, Drive-Thru Clearance in. No top bar, Overall Height in. 89, Overall Width in. 105 - 125 adjustable, Pad Height in. 4, Volts 110/220, Motor Phases 1, HP 1.5. 6,000-lb. total capacity Patented design Posts feature fully adjustable lift arms from 24in.-44in. All components feature wheels for easy storage and portability A dual voltage single-phase power unit is small enough to be stored out of the way Fully adjustable lift arms with stackable adapters Maintenance-free load bearings Detailed safety instructions Ability to create multiple installation positions Durable powder-coat finish Portable power unit cart Motorcycle adapter is available sold separately for easily lifting motorcycles with a single post Built-in wheels allow you to easily move the MaxJax across your garage for easy setup and stow-away Telescoping arms allow the MaxJax to reach far, for tough lifting points and pinpoint precision Rotary-gear flow divider provides precisely equalized lifting Solid steel safety lock bars double as a tow-handle Recessed anchor bolts are included with the unit, sitting flush with the concrete Free 3in. height adapters Direct-drive cylinder lifting system - less moving parts for increased longevity Auto-locking arm restraints cease arm movement when the lift is engaged Extra residential or dock hold fees may apply
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best thing I ever bought

,
February 4, 2014
By PJon
from Savannah, GA
"Use it for everything, cars, Jeep,s Boats ( to paint bottom)
even Lawn mowers. So far works great even all the way to top with a light 914 Porshe.
Can be easily moved if needed to make room for a bigger project or just to store. I mostly leave it up all the time now."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
May 7, 2012
By odell
from Johnson CIty, TN
"THis works perfecin my 9' basement. Steady and easy to install"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-22points
10out of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL TOOL FOR THE SHOP

,
March 23, 2012
By llstevens
from Beavercreek, Oregon
"I ordered this new portable vehicle lift and 5 days later it was being delivered. amazing. I followed the directions and everything went together great. I have used this lift a dozen times and it works great. The older I have become, the harder for me to work on my vehicles with different types of lifting means. This is so easy to use and I can place the vehicle at a perfect height and complete the vehicle repairs. I highly recommend this vehicle lift for pickups and cars for all general maintenance work. It is safe and so far reliable. thanks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MaxJax

,
January 12, 2012
By ManCaveLift
from Owatonna MN
"Installed lift and have used it many times. Works very well on all my cars and trucks. Didn't get all the hose ends that the book shows. emailed the company and they are making changes to the small parts and have not updated the books. Other than that I would buy another."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
16out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

maxjax

,
April 15, 2011
By lugnut1728
from portsmouth,ohio
"I WISH PEOPLE WOULD QUIT CRYING ABOUT THE LIFT HEIGHT,ITS CALLED A MID-RISE LIFT FOR A REASON,FOR US THAT ARE STUCK WITH 8FT CEILINGS IT WILL LIFT 45",WITH SPACER YOU GET ANOTHER 3" I HAVE HAD MINE FOR 6 MONTHS AND IT HAS BEEN GREAT.I LOVE THE IDEA OF SITTING UNDER MY CAR,INSTEAD OF STANDING I PULLED THE K-MEMBER FROM A 95 T/A AND I DONT KNOW HOW PEOPLE DO IT WITH A CHERRY PICKER AND JACK STANDS.
I DO HAVE A FEW CONS: THE HOSES NEED TO BE LONGER,I DONT UNBOLT MINE SO THEY ARE ALWAYS IN THE WAY
THE LEFT SIDE ALWAYS GOES A LITTLE SLOWER THAN THE RIGHT I JUST RAISE IT TO THE FIRST HOLE,PUT THE LOCK BAR IN,LOWER IT,THEN RAISE IT AGAIN,IT EVENS BACK OUT ALSO IM NOT SURE ABOUT UNCOUPLING TO MOVE MOTOR OUT OF THE WAY,WOULD I HAVE TO BLEED AGAIN.HAVENT TRIED IT YET BUT I MIGHT ALL THINGS SAID FOR MY GARAGE AND THE MONEY,EASY TO USE ITS THE BEST GARAGE INVESTMENT I MADE,BESIDES MY HOBART IRONMAN 230
IT WILL GET YOU OFF YOUR BACK AND ACTUALLY HAVE FUN CHANGING OIL ALL I NEED IS SOME ACESSORIES,OIL CHANGE PAN,TRANNY JACK,AND ADJUSTABLE JACK THAT FITS UNDER TO HOLD REAR ENDS UP OR SUSPENSION
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-13points
21out of 55found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Who needs 9 feet

,
March 21, 2011
By IndyStar
from Indianapolis, IN
"I have a 8'4" ceiling, so needless to say, this is the perfect lift for me. I was perfectly willing to make a cutout in my ceiling if it was necessary for a normal lift, but I would still be limited in vehicle lift height. This system is perfect for the DIY'er. Very simple installation and great customer support. One of the stickers got scratched by a fork truck and the customer service was very nice in sending out a new one. It also comes with a can of spray paint. One think that I can say is that this is freight shipped, therefore there is no guarantee that it will come scratch free without the need for touchups. That's just the way it goes. Just so that you are aware. Also, get a couple extra 5/8" sacrificial bolts and nuts for installing the anchors. You will need them. Happy lifting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift Model #120050

,
March 17, 2011
By Tanker1802
from Weatherford, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I took delivery of the MaxJax on March 8, 2011, after considerable research on finding a cost effective auto lift. The product is now installed and operational. In my opinion it is an excellent addition to my shop in every respect. Since I find that the review by Zeke76, Epping, NH to be excellent and in agreement with both my situation and sentiments, rather than parrot what was said in that review I will add to it.
After many years of working on both street and race cars, we finally made the decision to purchase a lift to use rather than lie on a creeper on the floor. Our situation dictated height constraints and shop floor space conservation, and the size and portability of the MaxJax fits the bill to a 'T"
I installed it in my main shop and will be using it to work on a Mini Cooper S, a Jeep CJ5 undergoing restoration, and a BMW motorcycle usilng the optional motorcycle adapter. The lift could also be used on our Ford F150, provided a second set of anchors were placed to provide wider stance use. In any case, a second set of anchors will definitely be installed in a second building with a ten foot overhead clearance to allow full lift at 48" above the deck. The lift is versatile at three different "safety pin" settings allowing most work to be done under or around the vehicle without hassel.
Setup was relatively easy, but it probably took me longer than some others suggest. I am very meticulous and much time was spent deciding on column location, width, and ensuring that everything was square and fully in plumb. My suggestion is to fully read the instruction manual BEFORE attempting any assembly, and be sure you fully understand each step. The manual is full of safety warnings regarding the potential for personal injury and/or death. DO NOT ignore these cautions. The equipment is excellent, but ultimately safety is the responsibility of the operator.
Bleeding the columns took me quite a few tries, but ultimately lift and descent were adjusted to equal and everything is working well and as designed. The manual instructs to fill the Hydraulic Power Unit with 7 qts of fluid, and then add another 1.5 qts. Hidden in the "Trouble Shooting Tips" is a more specific statement to maintain the fluid level at just below the Power Unit bleed screw. Ensuring that this level is maintained from the get go shoud provide for speedier bleeding.
The total freight weight delivered was 880 lbs with the unit plus the motorcycle option. We live on a steep hill and have no forklift. Since this is a one man operation, I opted to collect the freight at the terminal. The entire package was placed into the bed of our F150, and transported to the shop. I broke the packaging down and unloaded all the bits possible by hand. Then the 600 lb combined columns were unloaded using a two ton engine crane, which was also used during assembly. Once the wheels are mounted on the columns, they are easy to move around for one person with reasonable balance and strength.
It is highly recommended to have a rotary hammer on hand for anchor installation, as rather large and deep holes are required. I purchased a Klutch rotary hammer and bits from Northern Tool, and the installation was relatively easy vs. an electric drill equipped with concrete bits.
The decision and purchase process was made easy using technical specifications and installation videos on the Dannmar website. After sale technical support from Dannmar has been excellent, and their people are knowledgeable, patient and friendly. Northern Tool, as usual, was very easy to work with and professional in all matters pertaining to the transaction.
In conclusion, anyone looking for a quality, cost effective lift that is both portable and versatile, should find the MaxJax an excellent choice. Unless you absolutely require a lift that will allow you to fully stand under the vehicle while working on it, this lift can be used to do most any job required. A little use of Yankee Ingenuity can make this lift a good tool for a myriad of tasks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+34points
44out of 54found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MaxJax Portable Auto Lift

,
August 30, 2010
By Zeke76
from Epping, NH
"My garage has an 8 foot ceiling and I have been looking for an alternative to a floor jack and jack stands for some time. This lift is definitely it. I highly recommend the MaxJax lift if you work in a garage that wasn't originally designed to have a lift.
Assembly and installation was smooth using the clear and detailed instructions provided. The toughest part was drilling the holes as I managed to find a piece of re-bar.
Once installed, operation is simple as you would expect from any other 2-post lift. Plug the pump into a 110v outlet, a push button starts the hydraulic pump to raise the vehicle and a lever releases the fluid for a slow and controlled decent.
My ceiling height is my only limitation. But I can still do a brake job standing up now instead of bending over. I also have clear access to the underside with out the creeper bumping into jack stands. I even put my vehicles up so I don't have to bend to wax the lower half of the body.
Lets not forget the portability. The hydraulic lines are quick disconnect and the pump is on a wheeled cart. By removing the 5 bolts in each post, the post can easily be rolled away on the attached wheels for storage when you just need the floor space. Or if you have a slab outside your garage, you could set up a second mount point and work with no ceiling height limitation.
As for technical support, I called to ask some general questions. A human answers the phone. Their tech guy was courteous and knowledgeable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+42points
47out of 52found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
rb26powered74zcar
70605 
 
Please wait while more information about rb26powered74zcar is loaded.
Additional information about rb26powered74zcar could not be loaded.
MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post
December 15, 2010
"I'm 100% happy with my MaxJax Portable Auto Lift . I don't have a enclosed garage for a lift, but do have a covered carport.
This lift fits the bill perfectly as a temporary installed lift. I just unbolt when not in use, and roll it into my attached work shop! Perfect...
Granted, not for everyone, but I bought it because it fits MY needs!"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

jax max

,
August 30, 2010
By RAINEY11
"very nice product woks well for small garages wony lift as high as two post lift but for most type of work transmissions,clutch ,brakes ,oil changes its great and pretty straight foward to set up"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Dannmar MaxJax Portable Auto Lift - 2-Post System, Mid-Rise, Model# 120050/Maxjax
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy one!

,
February 13, 2010
By LiftMe
from Shakopee, MN
"Easy shipping. Easy set up. Instructions could be better.
Always wanted/needed a lift but ceiling height was a problem. Bought this one and it's easy to get under the car on a rolling seat. Complete access to the underside and changing summer/winter tires is actually fun. Lifts my car and light truck easily.
5 bolts hold each column so going from stored in the corner to ready to lift takes about 15 minutes. The quick connects from the hydraulic power unit to each column lift are fast, easy and clean. Plugs into a 30 amp outlet and your reay to go!
If you need a lift, have limited ceiling height, and don't want to take up permanent floor space, this is for you!
Check out the Garage Journal for more information on installation."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.