Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234

West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234

Item# 972201
Ideal for storing long items. 7 arms extend 12in. from rack and can be mounted as far apart as needed. Easily bolts to your wall. 56in. overall height. Arms hold up to 150lbs. per pair not to exceed 1000lbs. total. Capacity lbs. 1,000, Adjustable Yes, Product Type Storage rack, Material Galvanized Steel. 14 gauge galvanized steel for corrosion protection Ideal for storage of longer sections Multiple units may be used for extra-long storage Arms can support user-supplied shelving Easy assembly with included hardware Holds up to 1000 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 15(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Review 1 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wall mount storage rack

,
October 18, 2011
By MDIWoodGuy
from Bar Harbor, Maine
"i didn't think it was that hard to assemble, only took me like 10 minutes. Then i mounted them on my wall and filled 'em with long boards that were to tall to stand in my cramped shop. I love it. I highly recommend these if you need your floor space back!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst assembly nightmare ever

,
May 4, 2011
By dontbuythisproduct
"First you're supposed to assemble the bars to the posts. Horrible nut and screw configuration makes for a terrible time wasting task. Then an hour later you're supposed to stand the whole unit up to screw it in. Instructions don't say anything about using the support to mark the holes in the wall before you mount the arms. Wait until you have to hold the whole assembled structure up and try to mark and drill the holes. Save your self a lot of time and headache and run away from this product. Hard to believe stuff like this is still be made today!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

STORAGE RACK

,
November 16, 2010
By TBA42
from SOUTHERN VA
"THIS IS AN EXCELLENT UNIT. SIMPLE IN CONCEPTION, AND SIMPLE TO INSTALL. TAKES A BIT OF ELBOW GREASE OR USE AN IMPACT WRENCH AS I DID. TOOK ABOUT 20 MINUTES TO INSTALL. GOOD STORAGE FOR PIPES.LUMBER, ALL THAT STUFF ON THE FLOOR. I HAVE BOUGHT ANOTHER AND WILL PLACE IT SO I CAN STORE THE SHORT AND THE REALLY LONG ITEMS."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

West Wall mount storage rack

,
March 29, 2009
By mr70n
from Sandy Hook, CT.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I purchased two of these rack units for my home workshop. The product is very well made with heavy gauge "Z" bar wall brackets. All wall mount brackets are free of burrs and sharp edges. The Racks are easy to assemble with all required hardware provided. A tape measure, level, pencil, drill, wrench and a wratchet is all I needed. I do recommend pre drilling the holes in the studs and adding a little wax to the lags for ease of installing them.
I installed the two racks with the help of a friend in about an hour an a half including a coffee break!
The racks cleared up a large amount of floor space in my workshop that is now being used for equipment. I recommend this rack for anyone who wishes to gain storage space in the garage, workshop, barn, or even a shed. I feel this product is the best option for the money invested.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant choice

,
November 17, 2008
By chargerfan
from Sonora, Ca
"This racks assembly is quick and painless. I no longer have wood piled in the corner, its up out of the way and easy to retrieve. Great product would recommend this product to anyone who builds and needs to store material."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT

,
April 14, 2008
By KERKLIN
from BIRMINGHAM ALABAMA
"EASY ASSEMBLY. HOLDS A LOT OF EXHAUST TUBING. GREAT PRODUCT. THANKS"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Organizing Trim Boards, etc.

,
January 14, 2008
By snowbound
from Central Vermont
"Very strong storage rack which works great for storage of trim and misc. boards. Everything is organized and accessible."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Storage Rack

,
December 4, 2007
By Limo
from Massachusetts
"The rack is a little difficult to assemble by yourself. Two sets of hands would make it easier. Could use a better design on the bolt screw access. I found it easier, if you don't have a helper or bench near by, to put the rack plates up first provided there is enough space to work around them with tools. Then add the arms. Also found it easier to reverse the bolts and locking nuts opposite the instructions picture. The locking nuts don't go on easy so its better to have access to them on the outside than inside. Reversing the instructions picture, the screws fit with a little tilt on the screw going in. Also it would be nice to have the torque listed on the instructions, I over tightened and broke one. I got nervous thinking, 1000lbs capicity it should have a relatively tight nut on it. Providing an extra couple of screws and nuts probably would not kill the company either. Once the unit is up, it is very strong, I have it loaded with lumbar in my shed. Worth the investment after its up, nice to have the lumber off the floor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

West Wall Mount Storage Rack — 56in. Height Size

,
October 15, 2007
By logger1
from Shipman, VA
"This is an excellent product. It is heavy duty and easy to assemble and install. Price is good for the product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Storage Rack01

,
October 9, 2007
By Stephen07
from Council, Idaho
"Product was easy to mount and performed as described. I'm Glad I purchased it and would recommend to anyone needing to de-clutter the floor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

storage rack

,
July 9, 2007
By kioskcarp
from tennessee
"I found this rack to be a great way to store painted trim to dry and other small long millwork. I put three together to put 16 foot trim (base, crown. chair rail ) to store on the wall of our shop and paint room.It got it off the floor and out of the way to make room for much needed workspace."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice organizer

,
March 16, 2007
By drvrguru
from Mich
"Very nice item to help organize every thing from stock lumber, trim, PVC, and black pipe. I have a little bit of every thing tossed on this."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy my wife did it!

,
March 7, 2007
By Celina
from Dallas, Texas
"This product was a snap to put together and put on the wall. We had PVC Fence
left from a fence project. I did not want to leave it out side. This product solved my problem. Up on the wall out of the way and it looks like it could stay for years.Thanks Northern
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wall mount storage rack

,
March 7, 2007
By Kneal
from Altoona, Pa
"I was quite pleased when I received the 56" high wall mount storage rack. It is heavy duty and was very easy to assemble. I replaced a wooden storage rack and found that I gained two more levels to store my lumber on because of the wooden supports I had to use. I actually bought two of them, so I could space them to acheive maximum support for the lumber. The cost equaled the value.
I rate this item 5 stars.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for West 56in. Wall Mount Storage Rack, Model# 1234
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

INEXPENSIVE BUT VERY RUGGED AND FUNCTIONAL!

,
March 6, 2007
By RPMM
from BOW, NH
"WHAT A FANTASTIC AND INEXPENSIVE WAY TO ORGANIZE LONG ITEMS AND LUMBER. VERY EASY TO INSTALL AND VERY RUGGED. I AM VERY PARTICULAR ABOUT KEEPING MY SHOP CLEAN AND ORGANIZED AND UNTIL I FOUND THIS PRODUCT THAT PART OF MY SHOP WAS ALWAYS A SORE SPOT WITH ME. I PURCHASED 3 SETS AND LINED ONE WHOLE WALL UP WITH THEM. DEFINATELY RECOMMEND..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.