Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"

"Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"

Item# 998250
"The Northern Industrial mini electric cement mixer is easy to use and features a 1.77 cu. ft. drum capacity and 0.85 cu. ft. mixing capacity. Volts 120, Drum Opening in. 10 4/5, Drum Material Type Metal, Wet Material Volume cu. ft. 0.85, Pre-Mix Weight Capacity lbs. 108, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 46.5 x 20.5 x 38.2, Tire Size in. 8 dia. x 1.6 W, 50-lb. Bag Capacity qty. 2, HP 1/4, Speed RPM 1,720, Tire Type Solid rubber, Drum Speed RPM 30, Drum Diameter in. 16, Empty Drum Volume cu. ft. 1.77, Weight Capacity lbs. 130. Easy-to-use mini cement mixer Durable powder-coat finish Efficient portability and storage 8in. dia. x 1.6in.W solid rubber tires 5mm thick mixer blade Easy assembly"
Average Customer Rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cement mixer

,
July 12, 2015
By
from Ashland,Wi
" It dogged down with a full 60lb bag of cement, but it did mix it. I recommend halving the amount. It doesn't take up a lot of space when storing it. I think it will work well for my little jobs I have lined up. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cement mixer

,
June 29, 2014
By
from Foxboro WI.
" This is a very good little mixer. Wouldn't want to do a garage floor with it, but it works good for my purpose. Will use it as a fleece tumbler also, as we raise alpacas and need to separate the vegetable matter from the fleece, and I think this unit will fill the bill quite nicely. Will build a wire tumbler to attach to lower part of mixer. Will post video in action a sap. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

cement mixer

,
May 7, 2014
By
from Edmonton alberta canada
" perfect for small jobs
found it very easy to assemble and operate
the only thing that I found was that the front leg base
is a little short and can tip if not careful
I also greased the drive ring
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good. Small.

,
February 4, 2014
By
from New York
" This mixer is solidly built and will chug along as long as you will. Knowing it would be subjected to a lot of water, vibration, grit and abuse, I greased it up good and used thread sealant on all the hardware during assembly.
The shaft key for my machine was loose in the box and was lost for a while. I found it after I had already cut a replacement. Inconvenient, but not a huge deal.
The real limitation with this machine is its small capacity. You really are limited to mixing a single bag of concrete, for example. I can see using this machine for small batches of brick mortar. But for something like concrete work, where time is critical, you'll get more mixed, with not much more effort, using a shovel and rake and wheelbarrow.
Another, lesser concern is the slightly high center of gravity or slightly narrow base, depending on how you look at it. Mine has been knocked over a time or two. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great mixer

,
December 8, 2013
By
from Wytheville, va
" I bought this mixer for mixing cement to lay block for my new garage. Ended up laying a little over 900 block. This little mixer done great. Mixes in minutes and saves a load of work on the back. The only thing I would have done different knowing I was going to end up laying that many block at once is got the size bigger. I bought the 80lb bags of cement and had to split each bag into quarters to mix. 20lbs of cement, sand and water is all it would hold. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Bad

,
April 23, 2013
By
from Covington, VA
" Nice little mixer. Bought it to redo sidewalks, mixes and dumps well. Only con was the shroud for the motor came loose and had to put lock washers on it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT MIXER

,
October 15, 2012
By
from Norman, OK
" My husband and I love this mixer. I have used it by myself to make a patio. I will continue to use it for the many projects I still have yet to complete.
The instructions on putting the thing together are not clear, but most people can figure it out. WE DID! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
15out of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very helpful, but small

,
October 8, 2012
By
from Austin, Texas
" I poured an 8'x8' 4" slab with the help of this mixer. We used ready-mix concrete and divided the slab in half, first pouring a 4' x 8' and then coming back the next day to finish the other half. It worked great and this mixer was really helpful. We did use a wheelbarrow also. The advantage was that I could get about 2 80lb bags mixing while I worked 3 bags in the wheelbarrow, then pour and start over. This is a job for at least two people and hard work! Assembly took about 2 hours and this mixer is quite small on capacity, but I am glad I had it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just purchased warning regarding assembly

,
September 29, 2012
By
from Dallasish, Texas
" My reason for posting is assembly. As posted earlier the instructions are not terribly useful. A good picture and the caption "good luck" would be more useful. Fortunately the parts are reasonably self evident. Two specific instructions that are not readily apparent. 1) The upper drum and lower drum have to be aligned in a specific way for the blades to mount properly. 2) The inner motor cover lower attachment mounts using two longer bolts going through a plastic shim and a metal plate. The shim and plate sandwich the vertical strut creating a dampened, adjustable connection to the main assembly. It's not rocket science but I suggest you need basic mechanical aptitude and some patience to assemble this yourself.
Northern Tool suggestions
* add part pictures and or label the bolts
* pictures that show detail (i.e. which direction the bolt is going)
* include the gasket adhesive
* include omitted instructions per the above
* try putting one together using your instructions
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The little mixer that could

,
August 13, 2012
By
from NS
" I had some misgivings about purchasing this mixer - the price seemed too good to be true for a quality machine. It turned out to be exactly what I needed for my sculpting projects, is more than sturdy enough to take steady use, and small enough to get lost in the garage. A honey of a mixer! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Mixer

,
May 17, 2012
By
from Mount Pleasant, NC
" Purchased this mixer to make my wife a patio. We used it for 3 days, probably about 7 hours per day. We had no problems with the mixer. We mixed about 2 yards of concrete. It will not mix well if overloaded. Directions for assembly are not so good. If you are not mechanically inclined, better get help. Overall, a good mixer , for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE my little mixer !!!

,
May 17, 2012
By
from North Mississippi
" Got this to help with my Yard Art hobby/business. Have been using it for the last two weeks. It has made a hugh difference in the quality of my products. It mixes the fine concrete, sand and water/polymer mix quickly and completely. It is easy to clean, just spray water with a hose-end nozzle and turn the hopper straight down. The unit is lightweight and easy to manuver around the yard. Be warned, it is a two person job to assemble. Works great with 40 pound bags of quickcrete. The handle used to tip the drum is easy to use, I'ts just so simple to operate. We greased everything imaginable on it before we started because it sounded rough at first. It's a great little mixer. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

portable cement mixer

,
January 16, 2012
By
from Pittsburgh,Pa
" The portable mixer was perfect for my budget and helped me set 20 slabs -4'x6' of sidewalk in front of my house. The mixer when used as directed worked well and kept up with the workload. The motor worked continuously as we worked 8-10 hours
on the weekend to finish the job.
I was very pleased with the purchase.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mixer

,
January 16, 2012
By
from South Dakota
" smaller than I expected but did the job just fine. Size ended up a plus cuz easy to store. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

dont be fooled by the size

,
October 10, 2011
By
from Texas
" This mixer really does get the job done. Easy to assemble ( i recommend a two person job for this) but really not difficult. This is ideal for small projects. I used it to place cement posts for my fence and im just happy with the results. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good small job mixer

,
June 13, 2011
By
" Great little mixer for doing small odd jobs. Holds enough concrete to fill fence post holes and other small areas. Instructions arent the best, but in the end, it can only go together one way. Took a few hours to build, and saved many hours of shoveling! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Cement Mixer Model #CM125

,
August 30, 2010
By
from Moneta, VA
" This is a great all around mixer for homeowner. Uses include mixing seeds and fertilizers, as well as concrete-mortar.While not a commerical duty machine, It is very easy to use and clean, and best of all, light enough for one-person to load in pickup.An all around good buy for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

small mixer

,
November 2, 2009
By
from NORTHERN WISCONSIN
" this mixer is very small but perfect for grout and resurfacing cement "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Home Projects

,
September 11, 2009
By
from San Jose California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" A couple of months ago I got this bright idea to put artificial ledge stone on the front of my home to enhance the look since it was originally built with a stucco exterior, and painted white. I found out the cheapest price for artificial stone was $4 per square foot, and the price added up pretty fast. So after further investigation I found I could make ledge stone a fraction of the cost. I found a company that sold rubber molds, and I could make the stone myself with each mold producing about 2 sq.ft. So I bought two molds,the materials, and the colors to make ledge stone for the front of my house. Since each mold takes about 7 lbs of material, I pictured my arms getting pretty tired of manually mixing cement, aggregate, sand, and water. So I thought about looking for a small cement, and mortar mixer. After searching on the internet, I found the perfect mixer built by Northern Industrial, a mini electric cement mixer which was perfect in scale to what I was trying to accomplish. I luckily bought mine used, and paid a little less. However I would have gladly paid for a new one if need be. I can't begin to tell you how useful, and convenient this mixer is. It has a simple on/off switch, with the motor and the pulley housed and protected against any moisture. The tub rotates against a gear next to the housing with the tub slotted on the back to mesh with the gear as the tub rotates. The handle that angles the tub is is conveniently located for easy operation during the rotation of the tub. The mixer is portable with wheels, and light weight to move to another location. This mixer does a thorough job of mixing, easy to operate, well built, portable, and easy to keep clean. I would highly recommend this mixer to any one who is likes to take on home projects that require mixing cement, mortar, or any material that requires mixing. Furthermore, the beauty of this valuable tool, is once you reach a point where you don't feel you need it any more, they are in such big demand you can sell it to someone else in about five minutes retrieving at least 70% of your money used to purchase it. They paint them red, but my faded to a pink color, so I like to refer to it as my Mary Kaye mixer, ha ha ! So stop looking, and procrastinating, and get started with this perfect mixer, Happy Mixing ! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Northern Industrial Mini Electric Cement Mixer - 1.77 Cubic Ft., Model# CM125"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

owner

,
July 20, 2009
By
from North Carolina
" I purchased this mixer 10 months ago and have used it to pour a handicap ramp, a 50 ft. sidewalk, and 3 sets of concrete steps. It works as advertised. The only problem I have is moving from one project to the other. If the wheels were larger I think that would be help. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.