Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350

Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350

Item# 998254
The Northern Industrial portable cement mixer features an easy-to-clean poly drum with a 3.5 cu. ft. capacity and a 1.77 cu. ft. mixing capacity. Tire Type Flat-free, Drum Opening in. 15, HP 1/2, Tire Size in. 13 dia. x 4W, Volts 120, Empty Drum Volume cu. ft. 3.5, Weight Capacity lbs. 260, 50-lb. Bag Capacity qty. 4 1/2, Drum Speed RPM 26, Drum Material Type Poly, Pre-Mix Weight Capacity lbs. 225, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 46 1/2 x 24 13/16 x 36 1/4, Drum Diameter in. 21 7/10, Speed RPM 1,720, Wet Material Volume cu. ft. 1.77. Easy-to-clean poly drum Flat-free tires eliminate need to inflate tires Easy assembly
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 of 20(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mixer

,
November 20, 2010
By Etar
from South Carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have used it for concrete shed pads and retaining walls. The capacity is large enough to mix more concrete than the average home owner can use at one time. As noted by another viewer, the assembly instructions are poor in that there is no way to determine whether parts are missing from the package. This is because much of the machine is preassembled and identification of the supplied parts is difficult. Assembly is almost intuitive if you ignore the part verification stage and just put the pieces in the box together. Not being able to start or stop the machine while it is loaded is annoying; however, this may be characteristic of small electric mixers."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Moe and the Concrete Mixer

,
July 20, 2009
By Bigmoe
from Middle Tennessee
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this mixer with a friend of mine for use on a couple of upcoming projects. We are currently constructing a 3 bay 20 X 36 Pole Barn with a 10 X 8 foot attached tool shed. This mixer has already paid for itself just pouring the concrete around the poles. It handles an 80 lb bag of concrete with ease and is surprisingly easy to maneuver with a full load. The plastic drum cleans easily and the no flat tires are the only way to go. I mixed and poured 30 bags in just over 2 1/2 hours even with having to maneuver around all my support braces for the poles."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Passing on Do it your self passion to sons

,
July 20, 2009
By CyndiT
from Bridgewater, NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"As a life long do it your self mom, never had a handy husband, I have always encouraged my sons you can if you try. Now they are grown and have both become home owners, and I purchased this product for them for their Birthday's as they are 4 years apart and were both born over Memorial Day Weekend, May 23, and 24th. One has used it to pour an under layment for his home that does
not have a basement, but only a crawl space, and the other has used it to make
his own landscape retaining wall bricks. All tricks learned from mom, who last summer built a patio out of reclaimed pavers and 12x12 multi colored slate tiles, aquired at an incredibly reduced rate. Not only that ,I won the money for the slate and mortar by selling a large quantity of service warranties for the local home improvement company (store) that I worked at part time. Sort of exceptional service awards given to employee instead of money. We receive store credits and I buy clearance items. I do not have a photo of My sons projects, however I do have a photo of the patio.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Replacement parts.

,
March 5, 2013
By Mixnomore
from Union Hall, Va
"Mixer is a life saver as long as it's working proberely, but expensive to repair. After about 30 hours of use over 1.5 years, the starter capacitor burned out.. Can only replace this part by purchasing the complete motor/gearbox unit which cost ~ 70% of a complete new unit. My feeling is, they should provide the capacitor seperate from the motor and the motor seperate from the gearbox."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Pleased

,
July 9, 2011
By KraziKatLadi
"My husband and I got it for projects around the house. Small slabs and maybe some pavers. We poured 149 bags of 60 lb concrete and so far no complaints. We had an uneven area 10' x 12' we were pouring a slab that ended up about 5" deep. It worked effortlessly. The only complaint we had was that because of the height of our forms, we didn't have much pouring room. The barrel was too low. It emptied right at the top of the form. We built a small ramp/platform in which to set the mixer on to pour from and it was great. About the height of a wood pallet. We couldn't fill it fast enough. We poured 76 of those bags that time. The wheels were great for mobility. Even I could pour it full. Clean up, a breeze. Hose it out and wipe a few spots. We highly recommend it to anyone for their projects."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little mixer!

,
March 22, 2011
By DDDDD
from Lexington,NC
"I bought one of these for some projects around my mother's house and mine thinking that it might mix small batches and save my back a little. I was very pleasantly surprised to say the least ! I put it together (it only took a few minutes and simple hand tools) and it was ready to go. My friend and I have been doing some projects together (he has done a lot of stone and brick masonry) and he was extremely skeptical of it before we actually used it. We started with pouring a cement slab. We thought - "Now this will be a really good test for this little machine." We mixed nearly fifty 80 lb bags of Quikrete in under an hour and a half and we were able to dump it right into the form without losing hardly any mix right out of the mixer. After we got through, we cleaned it up by just spraying it off with water and rubbing on some of the stubborn spots and rinsing. It still looks like brand new and it only took maybe 5 minutes to clean up! The tires are a great help and make handling the load very easy. You can load at least 120 lbs of mix with no problem (we were on an incline) and on a flat surface you might get two 80 lb bags into the hopper and mix thoroughly. You can load this machine with a little water, dump a bag of mix in, add a little more water to get the right consistency, and it will mix it perfectly in just a minute or so. My friend was extremely surprised at how well it performed and I was really happy about having bought it. I recommend this machine to anyone who is planning on doing any concrete work around the home. It will handle a lot of material very quickly and easily and can save you enough $$ to pay for itself with the first few jobs that you do and save your back and arms too!!! Our first job saved several hours of hand mixing in a pan or the cost and hassle of renting a mixer from a rental dealer. If we had contracted to bring the cement in on a cement truck at the minimum delivery cost alone we saved over $100 and we weren't rushed to get it poured !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves a lot of time

,
March 21, 2011
By mickeyword
from South Carolina
"I have mixed cement by hand many times. This mixer is low to the ground which helps when you are loading cement. It is easy to pour from the mixer right into your forms. I have enjoyed using it and plan to use it for many years to come. Cement work is hard but this makes it reasonable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent value

,
March 21, 2011
By SawmillGuy
from Charlotte, NC
"Mixer seems durable and works great! Only complaint is that there is no seal between the drum and mounting plate so there is some drippage while the mix is really wet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

cement mixer review

,
March 14, 2011
By Hilltop
"Unit is a little small for real use. A wheel barrow would do just as well.
Unit came timely and in perfect condition. It is easy to store due to size. It will fit in a corner very well. Perhaps a larger version of this would be better.
Ended up renting a large unit to do the job that this was intended for. Will have to wait to see if it works better with a smaller job. Until then it will sit and wait for the next job.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Handy little mixer

,
November 24, 2010
By Nebraskamachinist
from Grand Island, NE
"After realizing how many concrete projects I have to do around my house I decided to buy a mixer instead of renting. I wanted something small enough to fit down stairs so I could replace the floor in my basement. This mixer fit the bill so I ordered. I have owned the mixer 4 or 5 months now and I can say I have gotten my moneys worth. I have mixed around 300, 60 lb bags of ready mix with this mixer without a single mechanical problem. The mixer is easy to clean, easy to move when loaded, and easy to pour. It mixes 2, 60lb bags at a time with no problem. I have even started and stopped the mixer while loaded without a problem. To take it down stairs you can easily take the drum off and carry the mixer in two trips. It was just about an inch too wide for my stairs otherwise I could have just rolled it down . There are only two things I do not like. One, it is easy to get the bags caught on the mixing paddles while loading. Two, it can be tricky to load with a shovel because of the size of the opening and the closeness of the paddles. You have to learn to flick the mix off of the shovel into the mixer. Not a big deal. All in all it is a great addition to my tool arsenal."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Mixer but Poor Assembly Instructions

,
November 16, 2010
By Duker
from Pikeville, TN
"The mixer has performed remarkably well in the construction of a long sidewalk and in preparing concrete for filling blocks in a retaining wall. I plan to use it soon to mix perlite, peat moss and compost for use in raised bed gardens. Two problems. The assembly instructions are poorly written. The instructions say to first check for a long list of parts, but many of these parts have already been assembled at the factory and you can't see them all. This leads one to think there are missing parts when in fact the assembly is much simpler than the instructions imply. Second, you have to leave the mixer running continuosly, which, to me, is a minor irritant. All in all, it is an excellent piece of equipment for the handyman."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small project king!

,
August 31, 2010
By inthewood
from Aylett, VA
"Recently, after having to rent a concrete mixer for both large and small projects, I finally purchased this mixer. . . And I'm not sorry I did. A "little" but able workhorse. Being a few years older than your average manual concrete mixer, I find this product easy to handle and lets me mix just the amount I need and eliminates the laborious hand mixing with hoe and tray. So far, I've set a pasture full of fence posts, poured a entry apron into my studio, a partitioned slab for my tractor implements, and other small slabs for the greenhouse. It went to work immediately after assembly out of the box. I would wholeheartedly recommend this to any "handy-man (woman)" oriented person. I already have a list of folks who want to borrow it. . ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PCM350 Portable Cement Mixer

,
August 23, 2010
By chasw
"I have used this mixer on over 300 bags of mortar and cement building a block wall and patio floor. I should have bought one years ago. It works great. Just the right height to use as a wheelborrow to pour the cement. Mixes in less than 5 minutes. Great for do it yourself projects. I would buy another like this if it ever wears out. The poly drum is easy to clean and the mixer is light weight enough to load into a truck by one person. It sure makes the job easier!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I purchased this mixer from Northern May, 2010

,
August 23, 2010
By dogchaser
from Norfolk, VA
"The mixer gets the job done. The only complaint that I have is the mouth opening of the drum is very close to the mixing blades that tend to hit the bags of cement while you are loading the drum. I increased the length of the handles to allow the mixer to tilt back on the handles while loading and I am very happy with it now. The drum is easy to clean and easy to remove for storage if you grease the stud that mounts the drum otherwise the drum can be hard to remove."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Perfect

,
June 1, 2010
By rinnels69
from Wichita Falls, TX
"I bought this item for 2 main projects: A base for a flag pole and concrete countertops. The flagpole base (13 bags) went off without a hitch-just add water, turn it on, and add the concrete mix...adjust water to your liking. The ability to pour it straight from the drum into the hole was AWESOME! No more shoveling! Project #2 was the concrete countertops--the main reason I purchased this model was the poly drum=no rust! It cleans up great! Just make sure to rinse it out as soon as you are done! Best deal I have found!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ultimate in functionality

,
May 25, 2010
By buckey
from Fredericton NB
"This mixer is the ultimate in the small project functionality. Great design! I had it together from the box in under 15 minutes and was able to complete my first project without any assistance within hours. Easy to mix , pour and clean... great little machine for the small project do-it-your-selfer. No hesitation to recommend this one to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

USARMYVET

,
February 23, 2010
By HWB1st
from Rochester NY
"This is a heavy duty mixer and yet rolls easily to dump the mix. I like the ploy drum because it is lighter and yet as strong as needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid product

,
February 22, 2010
By Rubio
from Charlottesville, VA
"I bought this cement mixer to pour a floor in the crawlspace that I dug out. It is a solid product with a strong motor and works great to mix two bags at a time easily and deliver the mix to where I need it. My only problem was that the holes for the protective shield for the motor were not precisely placed and I had to ream one out a bit to make the shield fit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mixer

,
March 17, 2009
By Olbrgnhntr
from North West Mississippi
"Great tool for the money. I have been using the mixer to prepare soil for planting trees and garden. It has proven very reliable. Happy with my purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Portable Cement Mixer with Poly Drum - 3.5 Cubic Ft., Model# PCM350
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Unit!

,
November 17, 2008
By JoeK
from Paramus, NJ
"Great Unit! We purchased this machine this past summer to mix seed and soil for divot mix on the golf course and it works great. The guys wheel it over to the pile of soil, fill it up, then wheel it over to the shed, add seed and fertilizer, plug it in and 5 mins later they are out divoting. Saves us a ton of time and labor."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.