Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity

Item# 999012
"This rugged panel dolly cart rolls on big 10in. pneumatic tires for superior maneuverability and handling of large work pieces. It is designed to handle plywood, laminate, drywall, windows, doors, countertops, mattresses and more. It includes adjustable side plates move from 0-9in. to accommodate varying items and feature secure T-handle set screws to keep load in place. Wheel Size in. 10, Wheel Type Pneumatic, Overall Height in. 12 5/8, Support Arm qty 2, Total Capacity lbs. 600, Includes Blue powder-coat, Platform Size L x W in. 15 x 16, Material Type Steel."
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Panel dolly

,
August 30, 2015
By
from Stuart, Florida
" A great aid in moving heavy door panels and impact windows over various surfaces. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

lightweight and useful!

,
May 29, 2015
By
from Snellville, GA.
" This little panel dolly can do a lot, its overall small size not withstanding! It is easy to set up, readily portable, and capable of moving awkward loads easily. I do wish the tires were flat-proof, but they are up to the job at hand. This is an ingenious solution for the handyman, who might not always have a helper readily available. I recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Idea-Poor Quality

,
May 23, 2015
By
from Cambria, CA
" I assembled and used this item for the first time today. As I removed the parts from the box prior to assembly, I was struck by the poor construction (welds out of square, thin metal in structural areas). When I started to put the wheels on the axles, it was very apparent that the axle diameter was too small to provide a comfortable fit for the wheel bearing races resulting in excessive wheel "wobble". When I put the wheel retainers (axle hat caps) on I discovered they were too large for the axle diameter and even with clip adjustment could not be made to stay on so I had to drill holes at the end of each axle and insert cotter pins instead. These things frustrate me. The item was not cheap but is cheaply made. It worked well today, but for how long? The frame materials appear to be too "light" for my taste. Materials just slightly more substantial would not have added much to the cost but would have added a great deal to the quality of the item. How much trouble is it to provide properly sized fittings? This little cart has great potential and is very useful. I'm am only disappointed in its overall construction and overall quality control.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Useful tool

,
May 8, 2015
By
from Illinois
" Dolly works great for moving drywall. However, the caps to hold wheels on are useless. Drilled hole in axle and inserted cotter pins to secure. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

arrrg

,
April 23, 2015
By
from michigan
" arrived intact,however, one of the tires had a tube with a hole in it. I am not sure it can be patched. pretty frustrating that 1 of only 2 wheels is usable. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Panel Dolly

,
March 30, 2015
By
from Ca.
" Works great for moving bulky and heavy plywood or sheet rock. Makes moving product a one man job. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right for the job

,
September 15, 2014
By
from Centereach N.Y.
" A friend brought a Northern Panel Dolly to a job one day. I commented what's that for? We were to install very large window frames on a commercial site . First we had to unload the units and store them in the building. Well the panel dolly was the back saver of the day . When we actually started to install the large tires went effortlessly over the rough Unlandscaped terrain.These units (windows and doors) required 2 men to handle . Since I purchased My own dolly I can easily carry door panels by myself. A great tool worth every penney! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Panel Dolly is great

,
July 31, 2014
By
from PCB Fl
" Very well made and a breeze to assemble. Made it possible to move assembled 6' x 8' shadowbox wooden fence panels myself over grass and dirt. Next were 8' long pressure treated 6x6 posts. Purchased just for this project and thought I'd sell when done. After using the panel dolly and seeing how little room is needed for storage I'm keeping it handy for next project. Glad I bought it and would highly recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Panel Dolly Needs Support

,
May 8, 2014
By
from Hickory, NC
" I purchased a pair of these dollies. the first was perfect, the second not so much. there were 2 problems: the wheel bearing was smaller than the axle and the axle cap wouldn't lock on. thankfully local store support stepped in to make it all right. the dollies are great, I've used them several times to move 300# loads across the lawn "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid tool

,
February 4, 2014
By
from New York
" Particularly for working alone, this panel dolly is a real back saver. It is simple, ruggedly constructed, easy to assemble, and its big tires really get the job done. The one drawback , and a flaw I think in the design, is the wheel retaining caps. Mine popped off in use. I tried replacements and had no better luck. I ended up drilling a hole through the cap and the axle on each end and fastening them with a cotter pin. Problem solved. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Load - it & roll - it, why cary it?

,
October 9, 2012
By
from Brentwood, TN
" I have to do a lot of event table set-ups at the building where I work. A lot of times I have to move only one or two tables to the other side of the building. This panel cart works great, load it and roll. Don't have to lift and cary. It is built sturdy with good welds on it. You do have to balance the load on the panel cart and maintain a good balance while rolling it. I like that it can adjust for the width that you need. I have put five plastic 30 inch x 72 inch folding tables on it, then adjusted it for one.
It is heavy duty so when you cary it; it is hefty. The new tires have a strong smell for a long time and the female threads that the ' T ' bolts go in were messed up, but I got them to work properly. Other than that its great.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Panel Dolly

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Jacksonville, FL
" Used this product to move 6' H x 8' L cypress fence panels. Having the flexibility to slightly under inflate the pneumatic tires kept tires from bogging down in soft flower beds along fence line. Great work saver! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Panel Dolly - 600Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great for drywall!

,
May 21, 2012
By
from Newfoundland, Canada
" I purchased this for moving drywall (8'-12' sheets) over rough, uneven terrain (bringing the sheets in from outside) that normal drywall dollys tend to have trouble with. We always carry same size sheets (ie. 8's with 8's, not 8's with 12's) so this worked like a charm.
We've used it in 2 different ways: With the dolly in the middle of the sheet, moving the drywall is nearly effortless as it'll balance on the wheels. The only issue is that will limit you on an approx. 9" height/clearance differential from the front of a sheet to the rear, which isn't usually a problem but can be if you're using a steep ramp.
The other way we've used it, mainly for ramps, is to move the dolly to the end of the sheets and lift the other end with a drywall lift or strap. This allows carrying roughly double what you'd normally be able to carry.
One thing to note: If you're using this in high wind you'll want two people helping roll the sheets or get a sheet of plywood to put on one side of the drywall. Otherwise if the wind takes the drywall it'll crack as it's mostly unsupported on the sides
We've never used this for moving wall sections as we frame in place. I've never known anyone to frame a section of wall so far away that they've got to roll it in place, so that seems like an odd use to advertise... "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.