Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine

Item# 999231
Single-direction plate compactor is designed to compact granular soils and crushed aggregate. Quiet 6 HP OHC Robin EX17 engine powers the 21 1/2in. x 16 1/2in. compacting plate. Float type carburetor Transistorized ignition Angled combustion chamber for increased power and efficiency Heavy-duty shock mounts for reduced vibration Centrifugal flyweight type governor 12 Volt lighting coil Overall displacement of 126cc Easy-check oil level for vibrating shaft (exciter) via sight glass Lift and protect guard applied
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Machine

,
April 22, 2008
By stonemason
from CT
"This machine has performed very well, no complaints, starts up with one pull. Have used this machine on all my job sights and would not use any other machine for the job it does."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 14, 2008
By Chuckyd
from NJ
"Ive owned this compactor for about 3 years and aside from replacing the throttle cable it has been perfect. Runs great, barely needs any maintenance, fairly easy to move around the job site too. 5 star product and a great price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for the Buck

,
January 25, 2008
By ConstDyn
from Somewhere in the Ozarks
"Have used rental units in the past (probably paid enough to purchase two of these) with the Robin engine. The dependability amazed me and therefore made the buying decision easy. The compactor will be used primarily on our hilly property maintaining gravel driveways.It started easily the first time and did the job a good compactor should do. We have been able to eliminate driveway "washouts" just by compacting the paths formed by natural water flows! The compactor will pay for itself in a very short period of time. Northerns customer service is A#1."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value

,
October 30, 2007
By fiorebuilt
from Los angeles, ca
"This is a great compactor for the money. Does the job, start easy, good size gas tank, as with all compactors its very heavy. I'm a general contractor so it does get used a lot."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BETTER THAN EXPECTED

,
October 30, 2007
By Backwoods
from South Jersey
"Purchased this compactor to be used consistantly over a two year period. I used this little beauty for many, many hours compacting lifts of sandy fill and gravel during consrtuction of a new home. The engine never failed to start and only had to be maintained as scheduled. There is a lot of information on the Robin engines on the Web. Used Synthetic Oil and only had to change the drive belt once. Belt changes are not to difficult if you align properly. This Compactor paid for itself many times over when you compare it to renting. The Machine is sturdy and easy to operate. The only problem you may have friends borrowing it and having difficulty in returning it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

trowel61

,
October 15, 2007
By trowel61
from ontario wisconsin
"is a good packer delivered when you said good price over all good deal"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

COMPACTOR

,
March 7, 2007
By BOBKAT
from PETALUMA, CA
"I BOUGHT THIS COMPACTOR FOR MY HUSBAND'S BIRTHDAY AND HE LOVES IT! WE HAVE DONE A LOT OF EXCAVATING ON OUR PROPERTY AND HE WAS ALWAYS HAVING TO RENT ONE. MY SON BORROWED IT TO USE ON HIS PROPERTY AND HE LOVES IT TOO. I THINK THIS IS SOMETHING WE WILL GET A LOT OF USE OUT OF."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Plate Compactor — 6 HP Robin EX17 Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

6HP Robin EX17 Plate Compactor

,
November 16, 2006
By HoneyDoListee
from Snohomish, WA
"This is a great compactor! It starts immediately every time, runs smooth and sure packs a whollop. I had it running within 15 minutes of delivery. What I really appreciate about having a plate compactor is when I get home from work and have only a couple hours of light left I can get something done. I grab my loader and toss some rock down, level it out and grab the "packer". Before I had to wait till a weekend and hope the weather was good so I could go spend $70 to rent one for the day. I get so much more done having this plate compactor. I use mine a couple times a week so it really pays for itself over constantly renting one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.