Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine

Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine

Item# 999362
This efficient Wel-Bilt Water Pump is powerful and dependable and gets the job done quickly. Features a 31cc, 2-stroke engine that works at 8000 RPM and delivers 1585 GPH at a low 91dB noise level. Engine Speed RPM 8,000, Fuel Capacity gal. 1/4, Suction Port in. 1, Engine Displacement cc 31, Flow GPH 1,585, Discharge Port in. 1, Max. Total Head ft. 82, Self-Priming Yes, Port Size in. 1, Engine Type 2-stroke, Max. Suction Lift ft. 23, Start Type Recoil. Great for draining pools, basements and more EPA-certified 31cc, 2-stroke engine delivers 1585 GPH Lightweight for easy transport Rubber feet reduce vibration 91dB Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
3.795 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (39 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
32 of 39(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

One inch water pump

,
February 4, 2014
By JohnG8
from Velarde, New Mexico
"I purchased the pump 3 years ago and it is still going strong. I use it during the summer to fill my 200 gallon tank from an irrigation ditch, probably 50 times each summer.
It is economical, easy to handle, and easy to start. I lift the water about 7 feet to fill the tank. Plenty of power.
I had to replace the handle and the priming bulb."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Pump

,
January 2, 2014
By Swank
from Bear Lake, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this pump specifically to use to flood a hockey rink on Bear Lake Michigan. I was nervous after reading the reviews on this site. I ended up purchasing anyway because the price was right and I wanted small. This product worked great for me, I was able to successfully flood the rink several times in all types of cold weather. I had to buy adapters to go from 1" to garden hose. These were available at any hardware. I do keep the pump indoors in a heated area. Great little pump for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

piece o junk

,
July 24, 2013
By rocky082259
from new mexico
"I have had nothing but problems with the carburetor on this pump. not even 2 years old. hard to start and if it does start only runs for little bit then dies."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Short Life

,
July 23, 2013
By Packer27
from Omaha, NE
"Intended to use the pump to water a remote garden using a pond on our acreage. Got everything set up and was able to start the pump after a fair amount of effort. (Not the worst engine I've ever started for the first time but far from the best). When the first tank of gas was nearly exhausted, I shut off the pump to refill the tank (using the same gas mix as was in the first tank), and could not get the engine to refire at all. After most of an afternoon of frustration, returned it to the retail store for a replacement, which took about a week to accomplish. Have doubts about how long the replacement will last - don't buy this pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

pump works great, engine is a disaster

,
May 7, 2013
By jp849
from central texas
"bought this pump for my fire trailer,
when running provides plenty of pressure to fire hose and a safe spray distance, but getting the engine to start when you need it has been problematic. low spark, , fuel pickup slow, starting it cold is a bear, ran out of arm time. decal on choke upside down. not dependable enough for this application
buy the one with known engine manufacturer.
jp"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pump

,
April 23, 2013
By mugg
from CT
"We bought this pump to pump water out of a hand dug well at our farm for the animals.It works great,fills the tubs quickly.Had a problem with it,just stopped running and wouldn't start call Northern and the had me send it back and they sent out a new one right away.Great pump and great company"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable, recommend you avoid this one.

,
February 20, 2013
By Charliez
from Northeast
"Pump started right up out of the box.
Once warm, very difficult to restart.
Every time I think I have the thing working, it gives me a hard time again. Totally frustrating. Sore arm from pulling the recoil starter again and again.
I have many two stroke engines, this is about the worst I've ever hand.
I'd return it if I had a local store, but I bought it online and I really can't be bothered with shipping it back.
Caveat Emptor
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PUMP

,
August 14, 2012
By charlottesvilletim
from Charlottesville, VA
"SO FAR 1.5 MONTHS 4 USAGES, A FANTASTIC LITTLE WORKHORSE OF A PUMP. i USE IT TO KEEP MY GARDEN GROWING WHILE ALL ELSE DRYS UP.
i WISH I BOUGHT IT A FEW YEARS AGO!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ever started a lawn mower?

,
August 13, 2012
By 12Beginner
from Fence Lake, NM
"I haul water to my my remote home and transfer it from a tank on my pickup to a larger on-the-ground water tank. I have bought hand pumps, 12 volt water pumps ... gosh at least 6 different pumps. They were a pain to use because they were so slow, if they worked at all. So, I decided to try this Wel-Bilt gas-powered pump. Frankly, I had a bit of trepidation about figuring it out, but no worries. Just buy the Apache Pump Hose Combo Kit along with the pump and it all screws together easily. And if you have ever started a lawn mower with a pull rope, you can operate this pump right out of the box! It's easy. Now I transfer 150 gallons of water into my big tank in no time flat, AND I drive around my land to water my juniper and pinon trees during times of drought. Piece of cake."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little pump.

,
July 5, 2012
By Gene23
from VA
"I use this pump to water my garden, which is about 20 ft above the water supply. It does a great job so far (1 month.) It's a very easy starter. 2 or 3 pulls when cold, just one when hot. It is loud. All and all, a nice little pump for the money.
Be careful not to drown it with water when you prime it. If the ignition gets wet, it WILL NOT start until it dries out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Three Strikes-This pump is out

,
March 30, 2012
By bradleyt
from Tennessee
"Just returned #3 for refund.
Pump # 1 gave me 27 minutes of trouble free operation before locking up. Returned it, got #2. Got about 2 weeks out of that one. Returned for pump #3, wouldn't start. Customer service at Northern Tool is great, pump is junk.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!!

,
January 18, 2012
By silverblit
from Madison,Ohio
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a great pump. I used it to transfer water from a pond to a farm field 175 feet away. No loss of pressure and plenty powerful. Great pump; for lots of uses. Also used durring flooding."
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pump

,
October 29, 2011
By susi
from columbus ohio
"needed a pump for remote camping. bought this to pump fresh water from our 55 gal. drum to 5th wheel camper works like your at home filling it with hose. nice pump, easy on gas."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little water pump

,
October 20, 2011
By Mactagger34
from Natick, MA
"We had a flood and the power went out rendering my (no battery backup) electric pump useless.
I fired up my little gas pump and it worked flawlessly and cured my flood problems with minutes.
It's a great little pump for the job I needed which was about 6inches of water in my basement.
It's not the fastest or biggest but does a nice job.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Small and noisy

,
October 17, 2011
By jtpete
from Providence, UT
"Started up and ran and pumped water fine. Fairly noisy. Tried to start it up a second time and it wouldn't start. Northern took it back on return because they do have good customer service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

rp55

,
October 10, 2011
By rp55
from ny
"I purchaced this pump a year ago.reasoably priced.when I needed it this year it started started right up and did a good job for a pump it size."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gas Powered Water Pump

,
October 10, 2011
By SpinklerDon
from Cherry Hill Area NJ
"Dynamite pump and extremely portable-works great-I took it out of the box and hooked the hoses up -filled with gas and oil and it started right up- I am amazed at how much water this small pump puts out-I needed a backup because my sump pump had trouble during the last storm and this is the perfect unit because you can get a 20 foot suction hose with it and I can open the basement window and still pump from the floor-I would recommend this to anyone-The price is right also"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gas-Powered Water Pump - 1585 GPH, 31cc, 1 in port

,
June 13, 2011
By cram001
"I purchased this pump last year for my camper trailer to pump water from lake to trailer 100 ft uphill and I have been very satisfied, the pump is a little loud but it works very good."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Portable Pump

,
June 13, 2011
By LandscapePro
from Watertown, SD
"I use this pump on a portable water tank to water shrubs and trees, it is extremely portable and starts on the first pull every time. It works well on low idle or at top speed depending on what your needs are. It has a rather large fuel tank depending on the size of the engine and the rubber mounting feet cuts down on vibration and movement."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Water Pump - 1in. Ports, 1585 GPH, 31cc 2-Stroke Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

You get what you pay for, maybe a little more

,
June 6, 2011
By Mark3
from Lakewood, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The day before my wedding our grey water system started backing up. Rather than shut down the kitchen with dozens of out of town guests on the way I was able to empty the 750 gallon tank in about 40 minutes.
It's not very robust, but to have a reasonably reliable, inexpensive, high volume pump available on standby in the garage for emergencies, it's a pretty great little unit. Very lightweight and easy to carry with one person in one hand. Making it more robust would take away this feature or increase the price (Cheap, Light, Strong- pick two). Pressure is pretty low, but with my use, running water uphill in a 200' 3/4" garden hose it does the job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.