Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A

Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A

Item# 999364
You never know when you might need this compact Northern Industrial utility winch that packs 2000 lbs. of pulling power, but you'll be glad you have it when you do It can easily power loads in and out, while you control it with the handheld remote. This winch is ideal for pulling boats, snowmobiles, jet skis, ATVs and more. HP 85, Line Pull lbs. 2,000, Volts 12, Gear Train NGWN type planetary, Rope Size L x dia. ft. x in. 49 x 5/32, Mounting Hardware Included Yes, Gear Ratio 1531, Remote Length ft. 4-6, Clutch Spline joint, Rope Type Single-line wire. Strong 2000-lb. pulling capacity single line 12V permanent magnet DC motor Durable NGWN type planetary geartrain 1531 gear ratio Spline joint clutch 4.6-ft. handheld remote control is easy to use Includes 50 feet of 5/32in. cable with hook and 6-ft. battery cables
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (45 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
44 of 45(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall Satisfied

,
February 7, 2014
By Rhinoed
from NC
"I bought this product to use as a hoist/lift for equipement being used on a Yamaha Rhino... It did so very well for a year without problems... (Money well spent for the price...) At years end the electric motor finally froze up being pushed to its limits regularly... Replaced by the Superlift version (caught it on sale for the same price) and still using it to this day..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

12Volt Utility winch

,
February 5, 2014
By Limitlesspos
from Saint Inigoes, MD
"Easy to mount, decent quality, good price. Nice weight on the cable, should handle the 2000lb capacity with no problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2000 lb ATV Winch

,
February 4, 2014
By Telcom
from Western, Maryland
"This unit performed as advertised. It was easy to install and fit my need completly. I am using this winch primarily to lift a snow plow on the front of a Kobota compact 4 wheel drive tractor. Since it is mounted on the front of the tractor it will serve many other chores as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Did the job.

,
February 4, 2014
By wifemom
from Collins, IA
"I would totaly rcommend this for anyone. It is easy to install and use. We have used it serveral times and now my son's and husband wants a wench on all our trucks and trailers. Saves on the work of using a come along."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winch

,
February 4, 2014
By Thefirewoodguy
from Lawrenceville, ga
"Bought this winch to use on my tow dolly, my utility trailer and to use for pulling big heavy logs.
It works great. I mounted mine on a adjustable hitch adapter I just turned it on its side and mounted it to it works great"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simplified Generator Loading in Trailer

,
January 6, 2014
By superdutyTX1
from Houston, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I needed to figure out a way to reduce the strain on my wife and me loading/unloading our generator on the trailer. It weighs about 160 lbs with gas and oil. So, I devised a way using this great little winch to allow one man loading/unloading. I drilled 2 holes through the wood bed, attached the winch using 4 inch bolts with lock washers. Placed a 12v battery on the floor, connected the controller, pulled the cable out and attached it around a handle. I pulled the generator up the 4 wheeler rack to load it behind the 4 wheeler. The winch is at the trailer front so I can load it before the 4 wheeler. I just reversed the operation to unload. Great relief and the winch is perfect. I highly recommend it for like applications."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

It has the potential

,
June 16, 2012
By mamacast
from Breckenridge, CO
"We bought this winch 1 year ago and never took it out of the box until today. Easy to hook up, the electric portion works great but the freespool knob will not move! This is not very functional without freespooling, and the warning on the label says not to force it. I have read the other comments from a couple of reviewersnthat have said it is "stiff" but this won't budge. Hoping NT will get back to me with some solutions."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
mamacast
Breckenridge, CO 
 
Please wait while more information about mamacast is loaded.
Additional information about mamacast could not be loaded.
Update
June 29, 2012
"Used a pry bar to get the knob to work, disregard their cautions! It looks like we will need to add that to the tools that we carry with us to make this work. Have tried it once for it's intended purpose and again the knob would not budge. NT did get back to me saying what part we probably needed. Too bad it didn't work out of the box."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable winch

,
May 7, 2012
By milkman2
from Gray, GA
"Bought this for my husband to use on his 4-wheeler, which works very well, but now he has installed it on his jeep wrangler and has rescued several people from minor mud and/or ditch incidents. Very strong and easy to install. Comes with owners guide and installation instructions. Currently using it to clear some stubborn tree stumps around the yard. Would highly recommend this product and the price was very reasonable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for my purchase.

,
May 7, 2012
By gmwide
from Williston, SC
"I made a rotating boom pole lift for my log splitter using the winch for lifting heavier logs onto my splitter. Unit works great and is a back saver. This is a great little winch with many different applications."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mower garden tractor

,
March 7, 2012
By robert1955
from EDEN MARYLAND
"I took an old riding mower and turned it into a garden tractor.It had no three way hitch so I had to build one of a different type. 2in angle and 2in box tubing and I had to add a utility winch to lift the heavy weight that is needed to hold the plow down and to lift it up. It is the best utility winch for the money. It does the job better than i can do by hand and works as good as a regular Hydraulic tractor lift. I would highly recommend this winch for any garden tractor application."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible product for the money

,
January 16, 2012
By cdogger
from Garretson, SD
"This is a really good product. It is very easy to use. Attached to the ATV 12v battery for power and hooked the remote connections. Winch was ready to use. It had more than enough power to a car or lift the snowplow. Great reliable product for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Neil

,
January 16, 2012
By badback1
from Alpena, Mich
"/the wench has plenty of power,, however, it would be very helpful if therewere some sort of level wind to keep the cable from overlapping itself and causing it to tangle . otherwise it works great.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern 12v utility winch

,
January 11, 2012
By landscape1
from newport news
"Product was good quality at a good price. My only request would be to have long fair-leads included to power the winch or sold separately in an accessory kit"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winch!

,
January 9, 2012
By zoran
from South Dakota
"Very simple to use and setup. I have on my ATV to lift my snowplow. Meets all my expectations."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good small winch

,
October 10, 2011
By northerntoolholic
from CONYERS GA 30094
"This appears to be a well built small 2k winch, I would have rated 5 stars but the free spool knob is very stiff, may loosen up with more use. However would recommend for light winching"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

winch

,
October 10, 2011
By DandALogGrenade
from Lancaster, OH
"it works fine but you have to watch when your winding it back up. You have to guide the cable so it doesn't overlap itself. Its worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great winch

,
October 10, 2011
By minooch
from chicago ill
"bought winch to remove hard top from jeep wrangler-save a boat load of money compared to a set up from a 4x4 catalog."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good choice

,
March 29, 2011
By Timbo1103
from Wewahitchka Florida
"I ordered the product for a small lift that I designed to pick up lawnmowers off the ground in my small repair shop. The wench seems to have good power and I really like the remote control option that comes with it. It's simple to hook up and is in my opinion a good choice for the amount of weight that it is rated for. Thanks Northern"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dave

,
March 28, 2011
By PainterDave
from Central Minnesota
"I have the 2000 lb. winch to lift my 7 ft.snowplow I made for my full size pickup. It lifts the plow without much effort and has been doing it for many years now. It's amazing how something so small can be s strong and the price was perfect."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools 12 Volt Utility Winch - 2000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400195A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexpensive winch

,
March 20, 2011
By Gerrit
from Evanston, Il
"In the past it took two people an hour with a chain come along to pull my 32' dock. This great little winch properly chained off to a tree and with a spare 12 volt battery pulled the dock in ten minutes. Highly recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.