Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451

Item# 999630
LXT Lithium-Ion battery and optimum charging system produces 280 total lifetime work with 2x more cycles. Compact design at only 9 3/8in. length and weighs only 4.6 lbs. for less operator fatigue. Battery Amp/Hour 3.0Ah, Battery Included Yes, 2 LXT Lithium-Ion batteries, Case Included Yes, Charger Included Yes, 30-minute charger, Chuck Size in. 1/2, Keyless Chuck Yes, Max. Torque in.-lbs. 560, Reversible Yes, Side Handle Yes, Speed - No Load RPM 0-300/0-600/0-1,700, Variable Speed Yes, Volts 18. Makita-built, 4-pole maximum torque motor delivers 560in.-lbs. of efficient torque in a compact size Ergonomic shape fits like a glove with even pressure and easy control LXT Lithium-Ion provides longer run time, 5x lower self-discharge for use any time and 16 firm holding contact terminals for constant high power 30-minute Rapid Charger uses 'Active 3 Control' for current control, thermal control & voltage control Rapid Charger has a built-in fan to cool the battery to produce more lifetime work Two built-in LED lights for more illuminated work 3-speed design produces 25 faster working speed with more efficiency in a wider range of applications 2-pc. armature and field along with externally accessible brushes for serviceability and longer motor life Model BDF451
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 20(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does it all

,
June 13, 2011
By GX123
from Laguna Hills, Ca
" This cordless drill does it all. It is well made and easy to handle. has a good feel in the hand, not clumsy like others. Great balance. there is plenty of torque and power when needed. Very Versatile. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makita

,
March 21, 2011
By beekeeper4687
" Great drill. Long battery time unless yoy get it jammed. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit — 18V, 1/2

,
June 1, 2010
By sofalyr
from small farm in central texas
" Excellent!. Replaced a Craftsman 18 volt with this unit, and the Makita is many times better. Many times the torque, fast recharge and much lighter.
Highly recommend!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Makita 18V

,
June 1, 2010
By limestang
from Austin, TX
" I purchased this to replace an older Porter-Cable 19.2V drill. The Makita has a quality feel to it, and I was looking forward to a years of dependible service. Unfortunately, I have found the batteries to be a disappointment, and the transmission is also hard to switch from low to high at times. I have had the drill for about a year now, and my opinion is there are better choices for the money spent. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much torque for itself.

,
July 20, 2009
By JL11
from Ohio
" I originally loved this drill when I bought it. A year later however, it broke on me when I was tightening down a lag bolt. It didn't just stop working or anything, it actually snapped the shaft that goes from the chuck into the drill itself. Not sure if a new chuck would come with that part. Like I said I really liked it, but I guess it has to much power for the cheap shaft they put in it. Could've been a very rare occurence. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makita cordless drill

,
February 26, 2009
By Jon95
from Northern California
" I have used a Makita 9.5 volt cordless drill for years, and loved it's versatility. I'm pretty hard on tools, and the old drill never let me down, except for the old ni-cad stick batteries, they needed improvement! Now with the new profile of the drill, and the advent of lithium-ion batteries, the old cordless concept has taken a quantum leap forward. Great power, excellent battery life, much better balance and feel. Marvelous tool, well worth the money! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best drill ever

,
November 18, 2008
By john1977
from thomaston , ct
" this drill has amazing power and torque battery lasts a long time and charges quick it is also a very lite and well made drill with this kind of power i have ever used and would rather buy two of these than take any other drill out there it is that good "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill

,
April 26, 2008
By 79Ford
from Shawano
" I really like the new lithium batteries and the Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit is a really powerful drill. i really like it and i would recommend it to a friend "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent drill

,
April 22, 2008
By rotty
from Crestline, CA
" This is an excellent drill. It is light weight and the batteries last a loong time. The batteries stay charged while sitting for quite a while. The multiple speeds are good for drilling or driving screws. It has plenty of power for drilling large holes. This blows away my old 9.6v Makita. The LED light on the nose comes in handy when you are drilling in the dark too. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product Quality from Makita

,
April 22, 2008
By dkalata
from Seattle, WA
" Though a bit more than I paid for my last Makita (it lasted more than a decade) even taking inflation into account, this is a tool well worth the money. It has great power and much lighter weight than comparable NiCAD tools. The weight is on par with 14v NiCAD for comparison purposes, so you get the extra power without the extra weight of standard 18v systems. The drill also contains LED lights to help see where light is minimal. At first I didn't think they would be of much use, but was I surprised. They are actually quite useful. I know I will want them again if I have a choice. If you are looking for a quality tool at a great price, Makita has what you are looking for. A highly recommended tool for anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drill!!!

,
April 21, 2008
By fhalabi
from Peoria, IL
" I love this drill. So far it has not let me down at all. The drill has tons of power for being so light weight without the slow die off you would get out of a normal drill. Also the fifteen minute quick charge is great. You virtually never have a down time with two batteries.
I would definatley recommend this drill to anyone form the pro to the ameatur. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Unit Sets the Standard

,
April 21, 2008
By sylas
from The High Desert at the Foot of the Rockies
" I have not purchased a new cordless drill in fifteen years as my 3/8" 7.2v Makitas (stick ni-cads) have never let me down as a professional who used them constantly. I bought one of the first square battery Makitas and promptly sold it as I found the design to large for my needs at the time.
I have since moved on from my former profession and my two older drills had been damaged by rodents while improperly stored. Now I own a small ranch and do most of the building myself. I heard about this drill from a relative who is a General Contractor and decided if I'm going to replace such a crucial piece of equipment I wanted the best. This drill does not disappoint!
The hammer feature is such that it makes stripping screw heads a thing of the past. The batteries last an incredible amount of time under a hard load. The charger is sophisticated and it's nice to have the battery conditioning built in. No more dischargers or memory issues.
You cannot and will not go wrong with this unit. Yes, it costs more, but what you get for the additional cost is worth twice the difference.
Highly recommended! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makita does it again

,
April 21, 2008
By Elbow
from Tucson, AZ
" Although this is a pricey tool for an amateur I did purchase this drill and have never regretted it. I had to screw some lag bolts into well seasoned wood and the Makita drill driver made the work easy. I am a do-it-yourself'er and the battery has always outlasted my day long projects. The nice part about the lithium batteries is that they hold their charge for months so I do not have a dead battery when I need to do a chore. This is the first key less chuck that works like it should and I can get drill bits tighter than with my regular drill with a key chuck. The light is the only feature that is a little disappointing. It isn't very bright and the beam can be blocked or obscured easily. I think that this is the first rechargeable tool that you can call an investment. Which is what I am planning to do. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power to spare

,
April 21, 2008
By Samm
from Bellevue, WA
" This drill beats all other cordless drills I've used before, it's more powerful and yet not too heavy. When I saw the LED light I thought it was a pointless addition but in reality it's turned out to be a really useful feature when I'm working in a tight space. This drill is well balanced and has a comfortable grip. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makita 18V, 1/2" Drive

,
April 21, 2008
By calreview
from San Diego
" One of the best drills I have ever used, I am underneath helicopters removing panels all day long and this drill has made my life just that much easier - the batteries last a lot longer than I would expect and the size is perfect to carry around and hold up for periods of time. Great Job! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drill

,
January 21, 2008
By zappenfusen
from Savannah, Ga.
" Being an electrician a powerful cordless is a necessity. This drill will power 3/4'" Auger bits. That's about the max it will handle, but also being much lighter weight than comparable drills makes it perfect in my line of work. I use it for everything, screw gun, screw driver, you name it. Because of it's light weight it makes it extremely handy. I've owned mine for over a year with no problems whatsoever. It also charges in 10 to 15 minutes making dead battery packs a thing of the past. I owned a Dewalt for years which I loved and was stolen and replaced it with the Makita. It turned out to be a big move up in performance and and a huge reduction in weight. Great Drill! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power like a corded drill

,
November 2, 2007
By toolguyinMN
from Minnesota
" Have owned numerous cordless tools over the years, first were the ni-cads. Very convienient, but when pressed for heavy jobs, the extension cords had to come out because the cordless lacked the required torque. Then got a couple of different metal hydride battery tools and while the power improved slightly the biggest plus was the faster charge time and no "battery memory" isues. Now, with the lithium-ion era, I seldom use my corded tools. Power, weight reduction and compact size make these tools the real deal. While the prices may come still down a little farther, I'm not waiting any longer to update my other cordless tools. Sounds corny, maybe, but these tools are just plain fun to use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the future

,
October 30, 2007
By Pmark
from Vancouver, Wa
" Time for a new cordless, I had been using some value priced models that needed replacing for an upcoming project. I had been planning on buying a Ridgid as I felt they offered a very nice balance of performance and price so a good value. During my shopping for the above mentioned tool I picked up the 18volt Lion Makita and had to ask a sales associate if this was an actual tool or an empty shell for the display! It is so light. I made up my mind that it was worth a try. I am not disappointed, in fact I am impressed. This tool will drive a 3-1/2" screw into solid wood on High Speed and if you are not careful overdrive it and just keep going. Power to spare. In fact the only drawback is you may strip some screw heads in the beginning because you don't realize how powerful it is. The LED light seems like a gimmicky feature but I have come to count on it in dark recesses. It has a timer built into the circuit so the light stays on for 15seconds after you let go of the trigger. Never hunt for screws or screw holes or pencil marks inside a dark cabinet again. No more 'cheap drills' for me. As a bonus, its made by one of the originators of the whole cordless phenomenon, how many of us refer to a cordless drill as a 'makita', regardless of the brand, it has become synonymous with the cordless drill. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Powerhouse

,
October 29, 2007
By Sconkworks
from South Florida
" I have never been totally satisfied with cordless tools in the past. I always reached for my corded tools when I had to do "real work". WITH THIS DRILL ALL OF THAT HAS CHANGED!!! It truly has the power to drive 1/2" bits like my corded drill! The fact that Makita provides 2 batteries means you won't be left with a dead tool. I would highly recommend this drill to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita LXT Lithium-Ion Drill Driver Kit - 18V, 1/2in., Model# BDF451
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great balance and power

,
October 29, 2007
By JohnTG
from KY
" Love the light weight, ruggedness and power of this drill. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.