Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407

FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407

Item# 999650
LXT Lithium-Ion battery and optimum charging system produces 280 total lifetime work with 2x more cycles. Combo kit, Model# LXT407, includes 1/2in. hammer drill/driver, 1/2in. impact driver, reciprocating saw and 4-position Xenon flashlight. Batteries qty. 2, Battery Included Yes, Tools Included Hammer drill, reciprocating saw, impact driver, flashlight, Charger Included Yes, Battery Type LXT Lithium-ion, Storage Case Included Yes, Volts 18. 18V LXT Hammer Drill/Driver 4-pole motor for 1280 in.-lbs. of torque Ergonomic shape fits like a glove Built-in LED light for more illuminated work Shift-Lock drive system quickly shifts from 'hammer drill' to 'driver' mode with one touch 18V LXT 1/4in. Impact Driver 4-pole motor delivers 1280 in.-lbs. of torque Compact, ergonomic shape fits like a glove Built-in LED light illuminates work area 18V LXT Reciprocating Saw High-torque motor delivers 50 faster cutting with a 1 1/8in. stroke that cuts 2900 SPM One-handed, fast tool-less blade changes and shoe adjustments 18V LXT Rechargeable Flashlight 4-positon pivoting head High illumination emits high power at 4500 Lux New Xenon bulb for extra brightness Runs up to 4.3 hours per charge
Average Customer Rating:
4.565 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 23(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product & performance. Very good price.

,
August 14, 2012
By TJB5472
from Barryton, MI
"Our company purchased this same kit for several center mechanics to share. I liked it so well that I bought my own kit. I take it to work daily and I have used it extensively. The impact driver has a lot of torque, the only drawback is the location of the light on the handle which leaves the bit in the dark. The 1/2 inch drill is lightweight, has lots of power, runs a long time on a charge but the light is the same as on the impact driver and the cordless chuck sometimes lets the drill bit slip. The reciprocating saw is most excellent. The foot adjusts in and out, the blade is quick change, the battery does not last as long but that is to be expected because of the more powerful motor.
The work light is very good. It adjusts in all positions and it stands on the battery base. I like the quick charge feature of the battery charger. I would buy this kit again and I recommend it highly. It also comes with a durable, nicely padded tote bag. A most excellent product at a most excellent price.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cordless Set

,
November 23, 2010
By BillyD
from Pittsburgh, Pa.
"You get what you pay for with this set. I have had several cordless sets in the past and have found the best value and reliabity with this set."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MMakita Excellent Tool

,
August 30, 2010
By gcfrsp2010
from NJ
"This is a great tool for power, weight, battery life. All I need to get is the circular saw and another Impact wrench and drill to finish my combo kit. Highly recommend Makita."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty

,
February 22, 2010
By BLSandell
from Graham, WA
"I have owned this kit for over a year and I have not had 1 issue with any of the components. I'm a electrician and use these tools everyday and I use them around the house for the honey do list. the small impact driver is my favorite its small light weight and drives screws in metal and wool effortlessly .Some people complain that these tools are not durable but I disagree with a little care and not dropping or throwing these tools around you should expect many years of use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ultimate set

,
November 2, 2009
By turtle74
from greensboro,nc
"these products have changed how I work and time it takes.would recommend to anyone doing comm. service work."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Combo

,
July 20, 2009
By kellyrp
from OK
"I purchased the combo 2 months ago and have been using it in a home remodel. The drill, driver and saw work great. The Li-ion is the only way to go. It runs along time and charges in 30 minutes. The light is very bright but the casing seems a little cheep. Overall a good combo"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

makita cordless tools

,
July 20, 2009
By hotrodbrad
from bakersfield .california
"I have had this product for 3 yrs when they first come out on ion battery, I usually don't pay for this much but I chose to take chance. Man what a great deal and product I had this for 3 years I work in a/c & heating repair so I use cordless driver drill and sawzall (cordless) constanly. battery held up great last longer and hold charges great. This is my greatest investment I ever had pay that much and my makita tool had exceeded my expectation of reliability....If I had to buy again I will not hestitate to buy makita ion tool.. thanks for great product.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

makita18voltcombokit

,
November 21, 2008
By ken1616
from bayville,nj
"it is my belief that this kit is not worth the money. not only did the battery charger
completely stop working twice, the cordless drill/driver has lost its ability to work in the third speed. i also think the sawzall generously lacks power. i would definitely not recommend this line of makita tools.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

savage7

,
August 19, 2008
By savage7
from San Antonio, TX
"I love this combo kit! 18V LXT Battery life is excellent and tools are rugged. The Reciprocating Saw does drain the battery faster than any of the other tools, but that is to be expected. The white LED is a nice touch to help illuminate the work area, but could use improvement. The drill chuck casts a shadow directly on the target area, so it seems the placement of the LED could have been positioned in a better place to reduce this annoyance.
To supplement the tools in this kit, I also purchased the Makita 18V LXT Fluorescent/Incandescent Flashlight (BML184), 18V Makita Cordless LXT Lithium-Ion 6-1/2" Circular Saw (BSS610Z), and Makita 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Cordless Jig Saw (BJV180Z).
Overall, I'm very happy with the Makita LXT series tools and would recommend it for home or professional use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great deal, great product but,

,
April 22, 2008
By qcplumber
from Quad Cities, IA
"Excellent products, glad I dumped my dewalts, Just keep an eye on the brushes. I have had one drill/driver burn up, Makita fixed the problem with no charge to me. I love the battery/charger combo, Hot battery not a problem anymore with the fan built into the charger."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

makita lithium tools

,
April 22, 2008
By amercasa
from minneapolis & Spain
"i have been using makita cordless for over 10 years. i have the 18v mh tools and when the lithium ion tools came out i bought the complete kit and I am very happy with the purchase. i keep the lithuim set in the states and the MH I use in Spain. the lithium being lighter and longer running is a understatement. really like the impact. hardly use the drill now. still nice to have it set up with a drill bit for predrilling and then screwing with impact. only thing i am waiting for is for the hand blower to come out in the lithium style. it is a real handy tool for cleaning up. i am around every brand of tool. Others may have a feature that is better for one person than another but over all nothing can out do the makita."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Tool owner for just over 2 years

,
April 22, 2008
By Stoneworker
from New Jersey
"When my two year contract ran out, so did the battery charger. It has started to malfunction; the fan will stall and the charger refuses to identify the battery. After inserting and reinserting the battery several times, the charger changes it's mind and I have a fully charged battery in about an hour.
Don't get me wrong. I like this tool. The drills and saws are efficient. The light works fairly well. And, the "on-board" mini LED lights are sweet for working in dark corners. As well, the storage bag is top of the line. It's just not all I expected from the Makita and the new Lithium-Ion technology.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME PRODUCT

,
January 21, 2008
By BOATER13
from COLDWATER, MI
"THIS SET IS GREAT, VERY LIGHT & EXTREMLY PORTABLE."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makita 4 pc. Combo Kit - Super Toolkit

,
January 21, 2008
By wback
from San Jose
"Saw: Good performance, super handling
Drill: Powerfull, Good Speed Selector, Good Mode Selector, Good Juck
Lamp: never used it so far
Charger: a bit noisy, but otherwise Fast and reliable.
Summary: A great kit with super tools, definitively worth it's money.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC

,
November 5, 2007
By moose777
from HELENA, MT 59601
"READY TO WORK RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. THE BEST QUALITY TOOL. THE LIGHT REALLY HELPS."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
October 30, 2007
By reddawg
from Bozeman, MT
"Great tool set However sawall uses batteries really fast. Hammer drill on drill is very useful"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

my new combo kit

,
October 30, 2007
By dogfacegirl
from Louisville, Colorado
"-Circular saw (model BSS610) - Very lightweight. The instructions showed a dust nozzle accessory that you could hook up to a vacuum but we couldn't find it in our box. I guess you had to purchase it separately? The blade guard on the saw appears to be metal, but is in fact silver-colored plastic.
-Reciprocating saw (model BJR182)- Again lightweight, but the power button seems to have more 'play' than I'd like to see in a tool.
power drill (model BHP452)- Was nicely balanced with an LED light.
-Impact Driver (model BTD140)- Driver bits were not included in the package. I guess those need to be purchased separately. The Impact Driver has a plastic casing around the chuck which is useful for protecting cabinet wood and such when you are working inside cabinets and small areas that you don't want scratched. Also, the LED light is useful for those small, unlit areas as well.
-Optimum Charger (model DC18SC) - Charges the Lithium Ion batteries in 30-45 minutes (beeps when it's ready). The combo kit comes with 2 LXT 18v Li-Ion batteries.
-Flashlight (model BML185)- Can be adjusted from 90-180 degrees but that adjusting mechanism wasn't tight and didn't seem like it would work for long before breaking. It's also a halogen bulb - it would be nice if it was an LED instead.
A very cool heavy duty suitcase with accessory pockets and wheels. I would use this bag when I travel. I bet it would fit right in the overhead bin on the airplane. And, it would fit my ski boots and just enough clothes for a ski weekend away. Ahhh, snow season is coming soon ! ! !
-All in all, the tools are lightweight and quiet. BUT - for the money you pay, Makita should have thrown in a few more accessories like the dust nozzle for the saw and at least one Impact Driver Bit
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makita Tool Kit

,
October 29, 2007
By OzzieJoe
from Kansas City, MO
"Absolutely the best I've used yet.
Not sure that I could even think of anything to be improved upon.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makita & Lithium Ion Technology, The Best Choice

,
October 29, 2007
By RichTools101
from Orlando, FL
"I purchased my kit Dec 2005. The tools are outstanding. Lithium Ion batteries are far superior to any other battery technology to date. They are light weight (18V same as 12V) work hard, last long, charge quickly, and most importantly they don’t lose their charge sitting on the shelf or in your car as others do. The 6 ½ inch circular saw, reciprocating saw, hammer drill, ¼ inch impact wrench, ½ inch impact wrench are well worth the money for professionals and homeowners alike.
Caution, if you buy this kit, you will buy more Makita tools to go with it, you see I already did.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Makita Cordless Combo Kit - 4-Pc. Set, 18 Volt LXT Li-Ion, Model# LXT407
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet

,
October 29, 2007
By acadman
from Claremont Ca
"Nice set, the Reciprocating saw is smooth and powerful, the circular saw is light weight and cuts 2X’s with surprising ease and the drill has 3 speeds for almost any job. All have built in LED’s that I’ve found very useful. The Lithium batteries are light weight and last a long time. The light is extremely bright.
You can’t go wrong with this set. I’m adding to my set, I just ordered the metal cutting circular saw.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.