Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700

Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700

Item# 999651
High output compressor with cast iron pump, Big Bore cylinder and piston, combined with greater bore and stroke, delivers maximum performance. Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, Air Tank Size gal. 2.6, Amps 12.4, CFM at 40 PSI 3.8, CFM at 90 PSI 3.3, Dimensions L x W x H in. 18 x 10 x 22, Duty Cycle 50, HP 2, Max. PSI 130, Motor Phases Single, Noise Level dB 80, Portable or Stationary Portable, Pump Oil-lubricated, cast iron, Stage Single, Tank Type Horizontal, Volts 120, Working Pressure PSI 100-130. Single-phase 3.8 CFM @ 40 PSI Low Noise - Substantially lower noise levels 80dB with a large 1720 RPM pump for greater displacement at lower RPM Low Amp draw reduces incidences of tripped breakers and voltage drop that can cause premature motor failure Roll-bar handle for portability and additional protection Large automotive-style industrial air filter for increased air intake and greater efficiency Durable cast iron cylinder reduces wear and increases pump life removable for easy maintenance Oil sight glass for fast, easy and efficient maintenance Lever handle ball valve Built-in thermal overload for additional motor protection Model MAC700
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Review 1 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great!

,
August 12, 2013
By Ret581
from Iowa
"As always, in my experience anyway, Northern has come through once again. I was very undecided as to what I wanted and/or needed. After reading all the reviews on MAC 700 I bought it. The break in was very easy, and playing with it has been fun. I'm thinking of trying to find a link that explains adding this unit to a bigger tank, but am not convinced I need to add it to my old 20 gallon unit. I piddle with all sorts of projects and do some air brush work, which this unit will suit me just fine. Glad I found this and appreciate all the concise reviews."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

quiet and heavy duty compressor

,
May 3, 2013
By 372nww
from morrisville pa
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I'll be the first to agree with the other reviewers that the manual that came with this compressor is lacking in detail. After reading all the reviews however, I had all the information i needed to set up the compressor when I got it out of the box.
It's actually pretty simple though.
1.Get a pair of needle nose pliers and pull the plastic plugs out of the oil fill hole and the hole for the air filter.
2. Take the air filter and wrap some teflon tape around the threads then thread it into the hole by hand (HAND TIGHT ONLY)
3.Using a small funnel pour the compressor oil into the oil hole. You will see the oil in the sight glass on the compressor will look to be too full but thats okay, this will go down after running the compressor.
4. Take the long oil fill cap and thread it into the oil fill hole hand tight (NO TEFLON TAPE HERE)
5. Open the air drain valve on the bottom of the compressor and plug the compressor in.
Turn on the air compressor and let it run with the drain open for 20 to 25 minutes.
All Done its now broken in and you're ready to rock!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice unit, but be sure you match it to your needs

,
April 23, 2013
By chickenwire
from SW Michigan
"Bought this as a "backup" for the house garage as my main compressor is in my workshop down the driveway and it's not always convenient to pull a vehicle or a project down there in bad weather.
Be sure to match this to your needs (SCFM versus what your tools require.) I use it for inflation, tire pressure, blow off - clean up, and have run my impact wrench with it to take a wheel off the car. If you're using a lot of air, you will need to let this catch up with you. I don't find it objectionable, but I expected it when I bought it.
I recently bought a brad nailer to help my son trim out his house. Quiet enough to not cause headaches inside the house and portable enough to lug it between rooms, but it is NOT light. Nicely built.
Unfortunately it appears my son agrees with me. It's been two weeks and I STILL don't have it back!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Built Like a Tank

,
September 4, 2012
By DerickML
from San Diego, CA
"This is a great little compressor and service my daily needs around the house. It is pretty heavy to lug around but very quiet compare to other compressors I have owned. It is a quality product and was worth the premium in price over other compressors its size."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great portable compressor

,
May 14, 2012
By bigdadoo
from west michigan
"I recently purchased this unit from northern after finally burning up my old pancake portable compressor after a couple decades of use. yes you can buy cheaper portables but the quality and features of this unit make it more than worth the little extra over the oil less models. super quiet, quick cycling, and well designed. hey it looks sweet too, (gotta be lookin good out there) no lightweight at 54 pounds, but very portable to job sites. narrow design is a bonus the way my truck is set up. I have purchased many items from northern and have not returned one yet, keep up the good work!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet !...Thank you.

,
March 21, 2011
By Presto
from Montreal, Quebec
"Here is the only thing I don't like about this unit, it has a exposed thin cooling fins on the inlet pipe that can cause damage or get damaged.
Now the good side. I lucked into this one. I had just replaced my brad nailer (stiil in the box) when I spotted this compressor bundled with a brad. My compressor made alot of noise and was a pain to put in and out of the truck, let alone hauling it up stairs, especially for really small jobs . So I bought the bundle because I figured it would just cover those small jobs. Did I say I lucked into this one?
Not only is this compressor quiet and light, it is also strong enough to run a framing nailer for small jobs. And I really like the brad nailer too.
My old compressor in now in the basement waiting for bigger jobs or jobs where I can leave it in the truck with the door closed to contain the noise!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for my shop & garage

,
August 23, 2010
By mmcg
from Upper Marlbor, MD
"Perfect for all of my shop projects. Especially handy for keeping my car & truck tires at the exact ppi (my pet peeve). I check all of the tires monthly and am always surprised how they manage to loose air. Tire pressure = better mileage, tire wear. Saves me money - Good for the environment - Gets us away from foreign oil. The Makita Hot Dog is quiet and fast. I put mine on a dolly and find it very efficient."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy & Reliable

,
July 20, 2009
By blissful
from Leavenworth, WA
"The Makita Hotdog air compressor is easy to use and extremely reliable.
Several links have instructions for adapting this compressor for a larger air tank. My only gripe would be that Makita include some extra compressor oil beyond the break-in period. All in all, a quality product at a fair price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best job site compressor ever!

,
November 18, 2008
By Stewcanoe
from Wheelersburg, OH
"This is the best job site compressor I have ever used.
Good points:
It is well made and heavy duty.
The purge valve is heavy duty and large enough to turn with gloves on.
The compressor is quiet! Very quiet! You can easily work in the same room with it.
Cycle time is short because of the big pump and small tank.
It is narrow enough to fit between floor joists or wall studs.
Did I mention it is quiet? It is the quietest compressor I have ever owned.
It will handle two air nailers with no problem.
It is heavy enough that it will not "dance" across a floor.
Other:
No bad points, just notes:
It will turn over easily in your truck bed so tie it down. The narrow profile make it easier to tip over.
It cycles fairly often because of the small tank, but it builds pressure fast because of the big pump.
Not the best choice for continous use air tools like air grinders but will work in a pinch.
This is a great pump for the general contractor, and the price makes it affortable for the homeowner. Great pump, great value.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Dog

,
November 17, 2008
By llkool
from Clovis, CA
"I've recently remodeled my kitchen and used the Makita "Hot Dog" compressor for every aspect from demo to reconstruction and the Compressor really lives up to it's name. The Makita Hot Dog is durable, portable and withstood everything I threw at it from cabinet's to flooring and lighting. I would recommend this compressor to any "do it yourselfer""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent quiet compressor

,
January 21, 2008
By rawb888
from Corte Madera, California
"I have always hated how loud compressors were and had resisted getting one for years. I went looking around and found this one, the price was right, the brand was popular, so i bought it. I plugged it in and turned it on and much to my surprise, it really was quiet. You can run this compressor and hold a conversation right next to it. seems to push plenty of air for my work. I use it for cut off tools, tire filling, and air wrenches .I also like it because its light and can be carried easily up lots of stars."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Makita 'Hot Dog' Air Compressor - 2 HP, Model# MAC700
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
January 21, 2008
By IronLung
from Houston
"I've had this Air compressor for almost 2 years now. It's amazing, the design is stunning, and for a 2.6 gallon tank with a 2 HP engine it's great for a home handyman like me, i wouldn't be afraid to take it on a jobsite either. Let's be real here, it's Makita, just buy it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.