Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G

Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G

Item# A1578111
Fast changeover, even in the field. Pre-plumbed and pre-tested. Fits 4-bolt engine face plates. Bolts not included use existing bolts from old pump to install new pump. Replaces Item#s A157811 and A157812. GPM 2 1/2, Max. PSI 2,700, Fuel Type Gas, Shaft Diameter in. 3/4, HP 5-6 1/2, Application Pressure washer pump. Brand Comet Shaft/Frame 3/4in. HP Required 5 - 6.5
Average Customer Rating:
4.844 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 32(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Review 1 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good!

,
September 11, 2013
By JasonInMichigan
from Michigan
"Seems to be very solidly built, and was a direct bolt-on to my Generac pressure washer. Had to buy an adapter for the hose to connect to the pump but that was no biggie at all.
One note on the installation: Be very careful when deciding to use either the original bolts from the original pump, or the supplied bolts. The supplied bolts with the pump were a different thread pattern than the originals, which is why it is important to 1) compare threads before installing, and 2) hand start the bolts before using any tools.
I did not to remove any "tabs" on the pump to get it to sit flush with the motor.
Would definitely recommend thus far!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump!

,
August 20, 2013
By CanadaBoy
from Canada
"This pump is a great replacement for the OEM pump on the Ridgid 80746 pressure washer.
Easy to install, and leaps and bounds better than the pump that originally came with the pressure washer.
Mine has been going strong for over 4 years, not a problem at all.
Just make sure you have oil at the appropriate level through the site glass, and your good to go. CAT pump oil works great as it is a green color and easy to see the level in the pump.
Pump saver is also a must when it is time to store in colder climates, prevents corrosion and stuck valves.
Buy with confidence, this is a great pump!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pump

,
October 16, 2012
By Coupeman
from Grosse Ile, Michigan
"replaced the pump on my Troy Built washer with this one, it works great, more power than the Troy built pump, I've had it for over a year and it still works like new"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

comet pressure washer

,
August 16, 2012
By Rob63
from Benton, La.
"Great unit , easy to install, comes with mounting bolts and oil already installed.took about 10 minutes to install and works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice pump ..... but

,
August 16, 2012
By TinnerN
from Texas
"I really like the pump, it works well and I feel was reasonably priced. The only thing was I had to cut off 4 little tabs on the mounting side to get it to pull up to the engine tight. Talked to Northern first and the guy said that's what most people do and was ok to do it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Power to spare...

,
January 9, 2012
By Rehaber
from East Texas
"Great replacement. Quick and easy installation. Comes with everything you need including oil. Installed in Less than 5 mins on my 5hp Honda. Power washer now works better than when new."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PS

,
June 13, 2011
By jgb1
"Easy installation and much improved performance over the OEM pump supplied with my Generac pressure washer---which, incidentally, I was very pleased with until it died after approx 10 years of homeowner use. A little pricey but the sting subsided when I started it up and experienced the increased power. Also suffer few pressure "lags" as the pump/water supply catch up as I did with the original pump."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comet Pump - Great Improvement

,
March 31, 2011
By RAS1
from Memphis, TN.
"Bought this pump to replace General Pump (2.9gpm/2300psi) on Generac 6HP pressure washer. The comet unit (2.5gpm/2700psi) runs smoother, cooler and cleans better. It does not load the motor as much at high pressure and seems to have reduced vibration. Pump response is much better than the original unit. Cleaned my concrete driveway in approximately 1/2 the time it took with the old unit. Flow seems to be equivalent to old pump, but pressure is much improved. Pressure washer runs better than when new. Great Upgrade! (Installation took approximately 30 minutes - could have been quicker, but old pump was frozen to shaft.)"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump

,
March 14, 2011
By Risenson3
from Trinidad and Tobago
"This pump has been proven to be reliable and capable of doing what is required.
I have compared it with the one I replaced it with and is satisfied with the performance
Will recomend it to anyone.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Replacement Pump

,
November 23, 2010
By MobiusRex
from Marietta, GA
"I bought this at Northern Tools in Marietta GA to replace the failed original pump on my Generac pressurer washer. Installation was easy and performance is much better than the original pump. I chose this unit based on the good reviews and it was a good choice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Striaght Forward Direct Replacement.

,
November 23, 2010
By Robnik1
from ADale florida
"No issues with this pump, bought it , installed it, ran it , No Problems"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great --Easy Mount

,
November 17, 2010
By GregGoTigers
"Put the Comet Pump on a Generac pressure washer. The pump mounted very easily and works fantastic. It is surperior to the OEM pump that came with the Pressure Washer."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't get any easier or better

,
September 25, 2010
By mightyramboy
from Beckley, WV
"I bought this to bolt up to my Honda GSX 200 6.5 HP engine.
Took me 10 mins to install.
Works flawlessly. Came with oil! Has low pressure suction for spraying chemical detergents. And plenty of high pressure.. enough to cut a board in half.
This pump is 10x the quality of the original pump. Thanks Northern Tool !!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

COMET PUMP

,
September 13, 2010
By BUDDY123
from West Melbourne Fl.
"I purchased this pump on 9/11/10 . It installed very fast and I had my old washer running in less than one hour. It works better than the original pump. The sales person was very informative Thankyou for your help."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comet Pressure Washer Pump

,
September 3, 2010
By Gary30
from Bronx, NY
"I purchase a Comet Pressure Washer Pump from Northern Tool and Equipment, Eighteen months ago and was very amaze with my choice. Easy to follow installation instructions and maintenance recommendations were included with my order. My Comet pump was installed in record time and has since work daily, facing off my challenges of grime and dirt from my work shop. I was recently amazed how effortlessly my Comet Pump strip away barnacle from my Sea Ray boat. I recently purchase two more Comet Pressure Washer Pumps from Northern Tool and I’m a very satisfied customer. I would recommend the Comet Pressure Washer Pump to all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Replacement

,
July 2, 2010
By BODOG
from Louisiana
"Received this replacement pump and literally took 5 minutes to install. The pump includes a sight glass to check oil level along with a bottom drain plug to aid in changing the oil. Bolted right up to to my Honda GC engine. Works great. Reasonably priced. Would definately recommend as a replacement over stock."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent replacement pump... can't go wrong.

,
June 1, 2010
By Anonymous
from Cary, IL
"I bought this pump to replace the worn out pump on my Karcher Pressure Washer... This pump bolted directly up to the 5hp Honda GC160 motor that the washer originally came with and i was ready to go in less than 10 minutes.
The pressure is better than the original unit, and the washer as a whole seems to sound better as well.
One note, this pump comes with a quick connect fitting on it, you may need to get a matching fitting to thread onto your existing hose."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PRESSURE WASHER PUMP

,
May 25, 2010
By JERRY123
from LAWSON, MO
"MY WIFE BOUGHT A CHEAP PRESSURE WASHER FOR ME AND AFTER A SHORT WHILE THE PUMP WENT BAD. AFTER MANY TIMES TO THE SHOP FOR REPAIR I FINIALLY BOUGHT THIS PUMP AND WISH I HAD DONE THIS A COUPLE YEARS AGO.
THE PUMP WAAS EASY TO INSTALL AND WORKS BETTER THAN I COULD HAVE HOPE FOR. THE PRESSURE IS GREAT, AND IT DOES EVERYTHING I HAVE ASK OF IT.
I HAVE APPROX. 20 HOURS ON IT AND HAVE NO REGRETS.
I WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE IN A HEARTBEAT IF THE SITUATION SHOULD ARISE.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comet Pressure Replacement Pump

,
October 20, 2009
By RetiredTeacher
from Independence, Kentucky
"The Comet Model#BXD2527 is an excellent replacement pump, delivering constant pressure and hours of operation. The oil sight glass is invaluable for maintaining the correct oil level. My original equipment pump did not have a sight glass, and after hours of operation it locked up. Replacing that pump with the Comet was simple as unbolting and installing the new one. This pump operates with low restriction on the engine, and does not heat up during constant use. I give it 5 stars and highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Comet Pump Pressure Washer Pump - 2.5 GPM, 2700 PSI, 5 HP to 6.5 HP Required, Model# BXD2530G
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pump

,
August 15, 2009
By lukskywalker
from palo,ia
"I ordered this pump many months ago for my karchner power washer. Its a step ahead of what was on my power washer. Very easy to install, and Highly recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.