Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20

FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20

Item# M0510
The only tool-free abrasive cutoff machine on the market. No tools required for adjusting the back fence or changing abrasive wheels. Features a 3/8in. thick quick-release adjustable cast iron vise. Powerful 15 Amp, 120V motor cuts up to 5in. square stock. The D-handle provides optimum comfort whether the tool is on the ground or on a bench. Wheel Diameter in. 14, Amps 15, Arbor Size in. 1, Max. Cutting Capacity - Square in. 5, Shaft Lock Yes, Base Heavy-duty cast aluminum w/a 1/4 in. steel plate, Handle D-handle, HP 5.4, Max. Cutting Capacity - Round in. 5 3/8 O.D., Speed - No Load RPM 3,900, Trigger Lock No, Vise Quick-release, pivoting, Wheel Included Yes, Volts 120, Dimensions L x W x H in. 16.5 x 25.2 x 18.5, Wheel Change Wrench Included No, tool-less.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (55 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
54 of 55(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST BUY

,
June 18, 2014
By Waterdog22dog22
from Cobb, CA
"Bought this unit on sale, and never looked back. We are rebuilding a 200,000-gallons steel tank, plugged this chop saw in and went to work. The crew is in love with it; it was worth every penny and then-some."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Quality Metal Chop Saw

,
June 18, 2014
By BmanTN
from East TN
"This saw is extremely well built. The motor has plenty of torque to cut through thick metals with ease. The quick release built-in vise works like a champ and makes material handling a breeze.
The only drawback I can offer is this saw is HEAVY, so if you are going to be using it in a portable fashion, I suggest you get a hand truck to haul it around. That said, it is heavy because it is made of METAL, not plastic.
All in all, a quality, well made tool that should provide many years of service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

6180-20 Review

,
April 27, 2014
By VintageMachinery
from Chicago
"Excellent machine. Not sure why Milwaukee discontinued it. Their current replacement is not as nearly robust in design. This machine is very expensive compared with other chop saws on the market but as a DIYer it will outlast me and I've always been very satisfied with my vast array of quality of Milwaukee tools."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tool free!

,
April 23, 2013
By LightIndustrial
from Minneapolis, MN
"Tool free blade changing...
Tool free fence adjustment...
I could just repeat those 2 lines over and over. Love this saw.
Quieter than a friends older Milwaukee saw."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent saw!

,
April 23, 2013
By ADR138
from Michigan
"Bought this saw in 2011 and have used it to cut a lot of 1/2" rebar. It works flawlessly....I highly recommend this saw!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heavy duty and good for lefies

,
May 14, 2012
By bemidjisasquatch
from Nome, AK
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this for the lefties in my shop class. And the refurb Dewalt we had finally burned out. The d-handle works from both sides, i just wish it was cast and not plastic. We use it daily and used it to build the stand for this grill."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop at Northern

,
May 14, 2012
By Northerngifter
from Virginia
"Purchased this product for a birthday gift and he dearly loves the product. He even stated " I will stay in the garage even more now that I have this saw for my projects.""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Milwaukee is always your best bet

,
May 7, 2012
By mtram95
from Montana
"I recentley purchased 2 of these heavy duty chop saws, one for me and one for my brother. Mine was replacing a 14 year old Milwaukee chop saw that worked great still, but was lower on power and I still use for small (less than 1/4") material. I chose the new model for its increased power, better cutting angle (the new one cuts larger material without the motor hitting the material), and the reliability of my old Milwaukee."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Milwaukee Metal Chop saw

,
March 13, 2012
By max1
from New York, NY
"Initially i was looking at the comparable De-walt model but purchased this saw. I am extremely satisfied with this tools performance, use it often cutting small pipes to 3x3x1/4 angle iron. The quality of construction of the product is outstanding built from cast aluminum and steel through and through. Produces clean square cut that is much cleaner than a band saw. Only requirement for tool is an ample power supply to create enough power, would not recommend using a 100' extension cord or longer."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-2

,
October 17, 2011
By smoker
from USA
"Purchased this chop saw to replace a cheaper saw that I was never satisfied with. I shopped the major box stores for comparison and the Milwaukee was by far the best. I have used this saw many times since receiving it and am completley satisfied with it's performance. Just finished building a log cradle for my log splitter yesterday, using 2x2x3/16 angle and 1" black iron pipe. Easy angle adjustments and operation. Wish it had a work light, but then that would make it perfect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Monster Chop Saw

,
June 13, 2011
By MansfieldJoe
from Mansfield, Texas
"My friend has had the 12" saw for years he uses in his portable welding bussiness. And I borrow it all the time. After using it more often I figured it was time for me to own one. Buying this model was a no brainer. Powerful, portable and tooless."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good saw for the money

,
June 13, 2011
By Todd619
from San Antonio, TX
"The saw overall is well made with a small flaw: The D-Handle and motor housing are plastic. I would have liked it all to be metal cast for strength. I haven't owned this saw long but it cuts 2' pipe nicely as long as you take your time with it. It hasn't been problematic in any way to date."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great tool

,
March 26, 2011
By metalmaster
from murrieta,Ca
"this is the most solid abrasive saw i have owned to date, the toolless blade change is nice, it is quick to use and has lots of power."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chop saw

,
March 25, 2011
By farmmech
"Excellent heavy duty chop saw. The D-handle is great. The positioning of the vice allows for cutting larger pieces than other saws. I like the large heavy duty frame. Parts availability is excellent."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Milwaukee Chopsaw

,
March 17, 2011
By Mexweld
from Tecate, MX
"This is the best chopsaw I've ever used. The easily adjustable vise and the toolless blade change are the two best features. It has plenty of power and overall is an excellent tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Milwaukee D handle chop saw

,
March 15, 2011
By Troop22
from United States
"This is a real nice heavy duty saw. The stud cutoff blades and the metal blade both work nicely. Great saw for the price. The vise is especially nice and heavy duty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent saw

,
March 14, 2011
By chap23
from New York
"Good heavy duty chop saw. First one that I have owned, but seems well built and cuts through anthing I have tried so far without slowing the motor down. Would recommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

another Milwaukee win

,
March 3, 2011
By burnindaylight
from Nebraska
"Have used this chop saw for about a year and a half. Cut tube, pipe, 1/4 flat, yadda, yadda, even some 4" square.
An excellent saw. I especially like the vise adjustment mechanism and the blade changing hardware compared to other saws I have used.
The 6" x 1/4 flat was a little bit much for the saw. What do you expect, right? That's a lot of steel.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Milwaukee a Real Work Horse

,
November 23, 2010
By jetfixer
from Memphis
"I purchased my D Handle chop saw a little over a year ago. I do a lot of fabricating at my shop for myself , my business and my friends on a steady bases. This Milwaukee saw has held up to all I have thrown at it . The 5.4 HP motor at 15 amps has powered thru many cuts without hesitation. I'm sure there are many more cuts in my saws future. This saw shows only normal wear and is built to last, Job well done Milwaukee.........."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee D-Handle Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6180-20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Milwaukee Chop Saw

,
November 19, 2010
By Macadoodle
from New York
"I have never had a saw of this type before, so I don't have any comparison. I like the saw overall. Haven't used it much. My main complaint, (and this might be with all saws), is that the way the saw is made you can only cut a 45* angle one way. Its not like a chop saw for wood where you move the cutting head. On angle iron it takes some thinking ahead when you need to make frame work and need two 45* angles to make a corner. The blade it comes with seems to be a little too chinsey. It seems to walk a little when trying to "shave" a little of the end of a piece."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.