Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20

Item# M0512
The 6190-20 utilizes dry a.k.a. cold cut technology which will cut on average three times faster than an abrasive machine and costs 1 1/2 times less to operate. The saw produces little to no sparks when cutting and leaves a virtually burr-free finish. Cuts angle, unistrut, steel studs, channel, conduit, tubing and pipe. The base is a heavy-duty cast aluminum reinforced with a 1/4in. steel plate. Tool-free 3/8in. vise and back fence. The horizontal D-handle provides optimum comfort whether the tool is on the ground or sitting on a bench. Max. Cutting Capacity - Round in. 5 3/8, Shaft Lock Yes, Wheel Included Yes, Vise Tool-free adjusting, pivoting, Speed - No Load RPM 1,500, Amps 15, Trigger Lock No, Wheel Diameter in. 14, Max. Cutting Capacity - Square in. 5, Base Heavy-duty cast aluminum w/a 1/4 in. steel plate, HP 4 4/5, Handle D-handle, Arbor Size in. 1, Wheel Change Wrench Included Yes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (27 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 of 27(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw!

,
April 23, 2013
By abc1
from Edwardsville, IL
" I studied dry cut saws for months before purching the Milwaukee. It is expensive, but the first time you use it you will be glad you purchased it. Ordinary abrasive saws are slow, generate sparks, and don't cut accurately. This saw cuts through steel or aluminum with ease and you end up with a nice straight cut! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best dry-cut saw for metal I've seen

,
April 23, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
" I can't even tell you how amazing this saw is. I've spent years using the abrasive wheel saws, which do fine on thing stuff but they really don't hold a tight and fast cut like this saw does. Out of the box, it does well in steel bar up to a 1/4" thick. I upgraded to another blade specifically made for cutting mild steel and it cut my blade time in half. Minimal sparks too, especially compared to an abrasive wheel. This saw cuts quickly for a steel saw as well, with lots of torque. Be sure to bolt it down to your bench if you can so you can get leverage on the handle if you need to. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Any cold saw

,
November 22, 2012
By MachineDave
from Byron Ga
" First of all use the correct blade. Two teeth minimum on material will lengthen the life of any blade.
Second allow the saw to do the work, overpressure and improper clamping can lead to premature blade life.
Third if you dont have it clamped securely and the part shifts or spins itll shear the carbide teeth immediately, carbide doesnt like chatter or moving material.
Fourth when cutting angle iron place the iron with the v facing upwards (I know, you wont have two teeth min at the very start this is something you cannot get away from with angle iron) go slow when first starting the cut then itll have two teeth in the material.
Fifth if you are cutting aluminum in a solid form choose a blade with the least amount of teeth itll clear out the chips better, 6061 al is gummy over pressure will clog the teeth and eventually weld itself in the chip evac area. You may use in a squeeze bottle or spray bottle kerosene or low odor mineral spirits itll cut much faster and give amazing blade life for ALUMINUM only!!!!! Do not soak part, a spray here or there no flood coolant.
BoLube can be used for other material it is a waxy dry cut lubricant apply while blade is in motion and on the side of the blade, once material begins to cut itll melt and create a cutting lubricant to aid deep or long cuts.
Six, its not a chop saw, light pressure and allowing the saw to do the work will lead to maximum blade life and machine life, ITS NOT A CHOP SAW!!!!!!
I would recommend this saw to anyone wishing to fab their ides into reality.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant dry Cut Saw

,
October 8, 2012
By CedarMill
from Md.
" I've had this saw for just a few months and have to say, Wow. If you have been contemplating the purchase of a dry cut saw, This saw has functioned flawlessly. I still use my abrasive saw for some operations however, it's collecting a whole lot more dust from sitting. The only complaint I have is the miter fence vise could use a little stiffer design. Otherwise, this saw cuts through steel like a hot knife through butter and much faster than the abrasive saw. Just be sure to read the instruction manual and follow the operating instructions to maximize the blade life. It can be used indoors however, you will need a good shop vac to vacuum the metal chips. No dust, almost no sparks, and the metal is unbelievably cool to the touch upon completion of the cut. You have to try it to believe it!!!!
Cedar Mill Bumper and Hitch
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cold saw

,
January 17, 2012
By Sturgeonking
from Vallejo California
" This saw cut 11/2 drill rod very fast with no heat tempering at the end of the cut like a abrasive chop saw,wish I had it years ago it cuts aluminum like it was butter I really like this saw.I have used this saw for almost two years with no problems. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Equipment

,
March 16, 2011
By DDub
from Camel City, North Carolina
" I have have owned several abrasive chop saws over the last ten years, mostly Dewalts that have had a life expectancy of around 2 years (motor issues). This saw is in a whole different class. It's more expensive than an abrasive saw, but it's worth every penny. Fast clean, STRAIGHT cuts. I have made 200-300 cuts instructural shapes ranging from 1.5" pipe to 4'"x.25" wall square tube. I use the saw in the shop and ocassionally at a job site. I have read some reviews complaining about blade life, but if you will just let the teeth do the work, it cuts very fast and cool. My original blade still looks almost new. I keep some abrasive wheels on hand just in case. This saw falls somewhere in between a chop saw and a stationary cold cut saw. It has rendered my horizontal bandsaw almost obsolete. I expect to be using this saw for years, if not decades to come. Thanks Milwaukee. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handles abuse very well

,
November 24, 2010
By Bobthetoolguy
from central Iowa
" besides being a very good saw it handles the rough and tough abuse of being at multi job sites being operated by different types of people that have different ideas about how to care for tools. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT SAW

,
November 23, 2010
By BTIBOB
from HERNANDO, FL
" At first glance this seems expensive, but once you use it you will see why! You get what you pay for, and really this is a great price on this saw.
Its a dry cut saw, so no mess, and the best part is almost no sparks or metal chips flying around.
We use this saw constantly in our Manufacturing facility and it has not let us down.
GREAT PRODUCT. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Milwaukee Chop Saw

,
June 1, 2010
By DaGooF
from Boston, MA
" Been using mine continuously on thick wall aluminum tubing and it works as advertised, virtually burr free, but it does go through blades rather quickly. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cry cut saw - worth the investment

,
February 22, 2010
By Jameslo
from Southlake, TX
" I've now used the saw for 2 months and it has performed flawlessly. I've cut 2x3/16 flat, 1 1/2" round tubing 1/8 thick, 1 1/2 x 1 1/2 14 ga sq tubing, 2x2x3/16 angle, and other similar steel. It really does cut clean, cool, and compared to an abrasive saw, very quickly.
Take a few minutes after setting it up to get the degree pointer dialed in. Mine was out about 1 1/2 degrees. After setting that up, you can go from making 45 degree cuts straight from the saw to the welder.
You will need a magnetic sweeper and goggles, because this creates slivers rather than steel dust and you'll want to keep the area picked up. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent so far

,
February 20, 2010
By SignMaker1234
from Bentonville, AR
" I have used abrasive saws and band saws for years and was very pleased with this product with the limited use thus far. My old abrasive Milwaukee worked without fault with the exception of replacing the trigger switch after quite a bit of use so I felt confident to try this unit. The cut is smooth and not having to grind down burs is a huge time saver. I had purchased a band saw and used that to avoid this issue as well as handle finer cuts but it was much slower. Haven't seen the issues that some of the other respondants have had. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cold cut off saw

,
November 2, 2009
By LAB3
from St Petersburg, Florida
" This was purchased to replace a Milwaukee abrasive chop saw that we had been using for years. The abrasive machine did what all abrasives do - it threw a lot of sparks and made a lot of noise!!! The Dry cut saw is considerably quiter and makes no sparks. It is really a pleasant operation now instead of a dreaded one. I would recommend this saw to anyone considering the purchase of a dry cut saw or an abrasive chop saw. The differences are considerable> "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Milwaukee 14" dry cut chop saw

,
October 21, 2009
By Bumppo
from I live in the Boston area.
" I have been building a hot rod for the past three years and when it came
to welding up the exhaust system I decided I needed a cut off saw. I
had recently been in an HVAC fabrication shop on business and saw one
of the workers using this saw for cutting 2" square tube. I was amazed
at how cleanly it cut and no sparks. The person said the blade had held
up very well and it was safer than the abrasive wheel they had been
using. I bought one and it worked great. I would not have been able to
complete the job as fast as I did and the joints were perfect, making
the welding easier. Even though I rated it five stars I found that the
vise could be overtightened and slip so I had to be careful on how
tight I cranked the vise closed. The relaese mechanism was convenient
but probably not needed.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

milwuakee

,
July 22, 2009
By e5t1g0y
from lake havasu, arizona
" very nice and price is right easy to use and most of all durable "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Milwaukee Dry Cut Cold Saw

,
July 21, 2009
By Trbl01
from Missouri
" The saw blade chipped after three cuts, The vise doesn't hold tight, causing the material to slip. There are burrs on every cut item. You can't cut 1/2" square solid or small round solids, unless you cut each piece individually, very time consuming. Won't purchase this product again. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

must have tool!

,
December 11, 2008
By dragontailtrailers
from tampa, fl
" i own a fabrication shop we havea 7x12 band saw hand held band saws, plasma cutters torches and various air and power cut off tools. hands down this is absolutely the best investment i have made. the cut speed is amazing. i cut thru a 3" c channel 1/4" thick in seconds and grabbed the drop and stuck it on the inside of my forearm, absolutely no heat. just as advertised!!!! and the best part NO BURRS! so far everything about this machine screams quality. i cant find any faults yet. the vise is well designed the only thing i wish was that the angle degree guide was a little clearer to line up properly. oh and i do believe the start up amp draw is a little higher than advertised. if you do any amount of steel cutting or just like to have the best toys do not skip this one. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

must have for do it yourselfer,s and professionals

,
November 18, 2008
By tory
from madison wisconsin
" This chop saw has plenty of muscle to cut through most metal stock with ease and a clean cut. This chop saw needs no lubrication of any kind, and very little clean up. It's a must have for any metal worker. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dry Cut Chop Saw

,
August 19, 2008
By Voteacher
from Gardiner, MT
" I purchased this product for use in a high school shop. It so far has been a positive experience for the students. The maintenance is less than for my abrasive cutter which is always a welcome site to vocational educators. Proper instruction is needed for use of this as with all equipment. The clamp though could use some strengthening or different design. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Saw Slipping Vice

,
August 11, 2008
By Manofmeltingmetal
from Idyllwild CA
" I bought this dry cut saw because of Milwaukee's reputation for high quality tools, but was a bit let down after using the saw only 4 times. The problem was the vice assembly which kept slipping, preventing me from securing the metal to be cut. I disassembled the vice housing and added a stronger spring, which allowed the small gear get a better grip on the vice shaft. I don't know how temporary my fix is, but for now it's working OK. Other than that, the saw cuts great, much better than an abrasive chop saw. Angle adjustments are very easy and done without tools. Hopefully the vice problem isn't a reoccurring problem on these saws. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Milwaukee Dry Cut Chop Saw - 14in., Model# 6190-20
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome saw

,
July 21, 2008
By sparkyone
from san migel, CA
" this saw it awsome i have been using regular abrasive saws for years and will never go back this cuts faster smoother and with less messthan any other saw around we use it to cut stainless steel carbon steel copper aluminum and brass blades last forevercut after cut it never stops if you are a pro and your work is looked at alot then you need this saw to make your work look even better "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.